1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

240 Rad Enough for two 6950's Temporarily???

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by 20mmrain, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Just got a quick question I can't find the answer too on the net. I have almost got everything I need for my 6950 Xfire loop. Still a week or two off yet but... My question is...

    Would a Duel 120mm Rad/240mm rad be enough for 2 6950's temporarily until I can pick up a 360 rad?

    The reason I ask is I happen to have an extra one just laying around. So If I were to save a couple bucks for the time being until I can pick up a couple of real High end rads including the 360 would it be enough until then.

    If so what temps might I end up seeing?
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,596 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    I think it'll be fine. Especially since it's a 240. It's going to be much better then stock coolers.
    20mmrain says thanks.
  3. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Yeah, I'm seconding Rocker on it. Anything is better then the stock..
  4. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Thanks any kind of guess on what temp I might expect temporarily?

    That's the truth especially on the cards I got.... I have the XFX 1Gb versions and the Heatsinks they have on it are actually I bet worse then the reference models. First time I have ever bought a non reference model and had worse cooling then the reference.
  5. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Just to verify and make double sure because I am a paranoid bastard (Nothing against you guys thats just how I am ) This is the rad I am talking about....

    XSPC RS240
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  6. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    That sucks that the Non did that to ya.. I think you should see a high of 50c.. but that's a guess due to not seeing how "hot" the 6k series of cards run..

    Yeah, that'll work just fine for you man. till you can get a triple in there.
    20mmrain says thanks.
  7. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Thanks for the response.... I appreciate it! Yeah I will admit I did not do my research on temps this time when buying cards. That is my fault.... I actually went with the cards I did thinking.... Hey With the better fan and heat sink placement I will get some cool and quieter cards then if I went reference. Man was I wrong

    But 50c to 60 c is fine for me until the new rad.... Chit Anything beats the stock fans of 81c on top card during normal gaming/ And low 90's while in furmark
  8. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Wow.. I'm not even seeing 74c on my one 480.. Glad your going water. Should be less of a heat problem for the system.
  9. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Well It's the top card.... but yeah that's warm I know! I will also admit that is at stock fan... If I raise it to 60% my card won't hit that high.... on the top... it will hit around 70c Gaming and 87c During fur mark.....

    Yeah you are right though... at first I thought there was a problem with my cards.... but after switching the bottom card to the top and the same thing happening I knew that there wasn't a problem. They just ran hotter....

    I will say though... the bottom Card runs at a more stable temp... usually 68c gaming and Mid 70's during fur mark....So it's just the top card no matter.... which card I use. The back of these chips must put out a ton more heat then the older generations.
  10. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,477 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,580
    I had a 2x120 cooling two heavily overclocked 470's and the highest temp for the second card in the loop was under 50c. I think you will be pretty happy with the temps. I had mine in a push/pull with 4 fans. Are there going to be any other blocks in the loop (cpu)?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Undecided at the moment... I have a cooling loop as follows right now.... DD Black Ice II 240 Rad - XSPC 750 Res/Pump - XSPC CPU Block.

    Just ordered Today a DD CPX-Pro Pump and a Swiftech Res.

    So Those parts in the ladder area are the start of a second loop if I wish. But I haven't decided if I am going to do a second loop or just add it to my first one.

    Here are the options I have...

    1. 1 loop..... Res>Pump>CPU>240 Rad>GPU's>240 Rad So that one would be one big loop that is the first option...

    2. 1 Loop Res/Pump Combo>CPU>Rad>Pump>GPU>Rad>Res

    3. 2 Loops Res/Pump Combo>CPU>Rad <----(Cpu Loop) Res>Pump>GPU's>Rad<----(GPU Loop)

    I wouldn't mind doing a single loop and was going to originally but now I am leaning allot to duel loops... You think that would be the best??? Either way there would be a total of two 240 rads involved.
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,596 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    Honestly , I don't think you are going to need a different radiator especially since nothing else is in the loop besides the cards.
  13. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    You know that is some good news... I like water cooling... But if I can save a few bucks and put it to another area I am all for it thanks
  14. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,477 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,580
    Agree with erocker. Save yourself some dough and see how well the loop w/ the 2x120 rad well cool your cards:)
    20mmrain says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Thanks man I will Hey one more question... I am still new to reading those flow charts. How well do you think that Pump I just picked up today would do on a single loop if I tested it that way??? The pump is the DD CPX-Pro Pump.... and of course I would still use both Rads

    I probably will go for two loops... But just asking in theory.
  16. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,477 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,580
    I am not sure...
    It is rated at 237 GPH, which isn't bad but when you have restrictive blocks like the gpu blocks, two rads and the cpu block (which is less restrictive than the gpu blocks) that equals a lot of resistance. I would think that it would not cool as well as say a MCP655 (317 GPH).
    I just don't know what to tell you. The more resistence in the loop (number of blocks and rads) the less cooling capacity in my opinion.
    20mmrain says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,596 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    At some point it goes to how much heat copper dissapates. I have a bunch of 90 degree bends, two radiators, a CPU block and a full motherboard block with a 355 pumping it. I saw no difference between that pump and a 655.
  18. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Wow that's a bunch of stuff there bud..... that is nice information to know.....

    You know I guess it will come down to an experiment. I guess when I get the parts I will just give it a shot both ways and see what happens.

    My biggest worry was.... me being a WC noober... I just didn't want to ruin any hardware in my experiments. You know like fry something because there was going to be way to much heat and I didn't know about it.

    So... I will give it a shot both ways and see what happens.... I don't mind doing two Loops at all but with that XSPC 750 Duel Drive Bay Loop I wouldn't mind getting those 5.25 bays back either. I could use those for something. Especially in a Lian Li PC-V120 Case which only has 3 to begin with.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page