1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

$25 Raspberry Pi Hobby Computer Doubles iPhone 4S GPU Performance And Beats Tegra 2

Discussion in 'News' started by qubit, Jan 27, 2012.

  1. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,873 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,503
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    We have previously reported on the super cheap ARM-based Raspberry Pi hobby computer that's been under development from the Raspberry Pi foundation. However, it's now going into production and is generating a lot of interest, so gamesindustry.biz interviewed its founder, Eben Upton, about it (free registration required).

    The computer's primary purpose is as a computer science teaching aid in schools and colleges and also for home brew use by enthusiasts who want to tinker with it and make specialized solutions out of it. However, it seems that enthusiasts will have a nice surprise in that the onboard GPU is surprisingly good. The actual ARM implementation is a Broadcom BCM2835 System on Chip (SoC) containing an ARM 11 CPU and a custom graphics core, which has been designed by the Raspberry Pi team, including Upton. In the interview, Upton claimed that it can double iPhone 4S performance and handily beats NVIDIA's Tegra solution, because of its tile mode architecture.

    [​IMG]

    "Q: We know that you have a 700MHz ARM11 core in the Raspberry Pi SoC. However, you've described the Broadcom chip as a GPU with ARM elements grafted on. Can you give some idea of the rendering power of the graphics core? Is it true that it comprehensively outperforms NVIDIA's Tegra 2? If so, how?

    Eben Upton: I was on the team that designed the graphics core, so I'm a little biased here, but I genuinely believe we have the best mobile GPU team in the world at Broadcom in Cambridge. What's really striking is how badly Tegra 2 performs relative even to simple APs using licensed Imagination Technologies (TI and Apple) or ARM Mali (Samsung) graphics. To summarise, BCM2835 has a tile mode architecture - so it kills immediate-mode devices like Tegra on fill-rate - and we've chosen to configure it with a very large amount of shader performance, so it does very well on compute-intensive benchmarks, and should double iPhone 4S performance across a range of content."

    There don’t appear to be any objective benchmarks to prove this at the moment, so we will have to take his word for it for now. Of course, this little computer isn't a one trick pony and can do many other things, such as offering full support for 1080p30 Blu-ray h.264 files, making it a competent media player. Also, it runs Linux, which is highly customizable and has a good selection of interfaces, such as USB 2.0, SD, HDMI, RCA video, analog audio and a 10/100 Ethernet port. It is also capable of supporting various expansion boards.
     
    xBruce88x, erocker, KieranD and 3 others say thanks.
  2. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,840 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    This sounds pretty cool Would be sweet to use for just surfing the web. Use Linux and put it on a Sandisk 64 GB SDXC or SandDisk 64GB Micro SDXC and put some music and movies on it. Hook it up to your TV. People will ask where are you streaming all your stuff from and point to a little box.

    EDIT: ... I'm confused is it SDXC/SDHC/SD or Micro SD?

    More INFO here http://www.raspberrypi.org/faqs I really wan't one its only $35 or less
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2012
    qubit says thanks.
  3. Play3r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    I will definitely be purchasing at least one of these. You can get XBMC on one of these and have yourself a little HTPC for very very cheap.
     
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Quite interesting, I'll take 2 please.
     
  5. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,454 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Nice, right on track for when they expected to be ready. Will nab a couple Model B's!
     
  6. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,840 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Don't forget you can only buy one till they get more later.
    [​IMG]

    I really want to make a custom stained wood box for this just need to figure out how to do the ports. I'm getting all my dimension from that Google Sketchup.
     
    Jizzler says thanks.
  7. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    yeah I definitely want a couple of these upon release..
     
  8. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    WHAT A SHAME there aren't 2x ethernet ports. Would make a nice router or firewall. Now, didn't I read somewhere that there will be an ARM flavour of Windows 8? :D
     
  9. deleted New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    80 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    It has a slot for a full size SD card on the back of the board. Most Micro SDs come with an adapter, though, so you can use either.
     
  10. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,232 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Way cool. I can't wait to tinker with something like this. Definitely have my order. My only
    Gripe is the 256mb ram but it should be okay with Linux.
     
  11. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    It has an SD card slot, so you could use one of those new SD wireless adapters.
     
  12. R_1

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    449 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Too excessive power for me. I will consider to buy one when they use at least ARMv7. That ARM11 is too much powerful for my taste. It is for lunching rocket into space , breaking DNA code and other advanced stuff. :laugh:
     
  13. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Ive known about this for awhile. I dont think i will be able to get one as too many people know about it, it will definitely sell out fast.
    All the Yanks and Europeans want them, its supposed to be an education project for the UK so i was hoping they would release the first batch to us UK'ers but i get a feeling its going to be first come first serve... AH!

    Model B is actually $35.
     
  14. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,896 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,414
    All the more reason for them to print more. :D

    I hope they do anyway.
     
  15. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Singapore
    It's NOT more powerful than either tegra2 or the A5...The ARM11 core is 2 generations old...the GPU does look sound tho.
     
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,740 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,215
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Just noticed this was a LINUX only device. Wished it could atleast run a miniXP or android OS if all possible.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,896 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,414
    I don't think it'll take that long for Android to come to it.
     
  18. mandis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Of course it can!! It was hand built by ALIENS!!! OBVIOUSLY!!!



    YEP! AND I'M ...BATMAN!! :rolleyes:
     
  19. Esse

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    107 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Well it's not a Linux only device it's just using an ARM processor.

    Windows CE and Android will work. Other than CE, Windows has never supported ARM processors.
     
  20. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,873 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,503
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Windows 8 does.
     
  21. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,129 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,191
    Or just use a USB Wireless adapter, or USB ethernet adapter.

    Windows 8 will, but I doubt it will work with only 256MB of RAM.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  22. Trackr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Does this take BIOS soldering to use, or is it something anyone can do?

    I'm sort of in the middle right now ;)
     
  23. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,873 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,503
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Oh, quite. Probably even 512MB is pushing it. I'm simply making the point that the upcoming one does support ARM.

    Hey, I'm tempted to use MSCONFIG and see how my 64-bit Windows 7 boots with onlu 256MB RAM on my current rig just for giggles. However, it won't boot, I'm in a bit of a catch 22, aren't I? lol
     
  24. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Nah just make sure you "create a system repair disc" by typing that into the start menu and the type "create a restore point" into the start menu which brings up "system properties" with the system protection tab already open and all you have to do is click create and name your restore point and if it doesn't start up, flip in the system repair disc you made and restore to the restore point you just created...

    LOL
     
    theeldest and qubit say thanks.
  25. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,873 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,503
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Nice one, I'll give that a go. :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page