1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

250 GTS SLI vs asus 6870 HD

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by vigorsol, Dec 24, 2011.

  1. vigorsol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hello again everyone!

    I'd like to start off by saying Merry Christmas / Happy holidays / Enjoy your vacation!

    That being said, i wish to ask of you yet more advice for my new rig. It has an EVGA geforce 250GTS 1gb (HDMI version)in it. I have en i5 750 @ 2.7GHz quad core, 4gb 1333MHz RAM, windows 7 home premium x64.

    Thereafter I would like you to advise me on the following: I want to upgrade graphics, even though this one works pretty well for me, and can't handle all the games i wish to play. So, Either I pay a truckload of money for another 250gts and put those 2 in SLI, or i get a single radeon 6790 or 6870. The 6870 new costs the same as a used 250gts, seeing as the 250GTS aren't in production anymore.

    So;
    What would perfom best with my processor? I cannot overclock due to my EVGA p55v mobo, so another 250GTS in SLI or a single 6870, or even a 'downgrade' 6790?


    Thank you all once again :respect:

    ~Vigorsol
     
  2. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    6870 hands down, less power, less headaches in games with multi GPU issues, same/more horsepower, DX11 I could go on but you get the point?

    Why can't you overclock? that mobo should OC just fine and your 750 will do 3.8-4.0GHZ very easily.
     
  3. gasolina

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    38 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i'm trying to do so xD but i think better stick with x2 5750 could beat a single 6870 . GTS 250 SLI i think around GTX 285 ~ 460 768MB . 250 SLI can't beat 6870 unless overclocking
     
  4. vigorsol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    The mobo EVGA p55v, if you look it up, you'll see the overclocking function isn't even included in this mobo. After i upgrade my graphics, I'll be looking into a new mobo, still LGA1156, unless I at that time have money for another CPU, than I'll get myself an 1155 socket, which allowes me to choose between a wider selection og CPU's.

    So clearly, the 6870 beats 250GTS x 2 (SLI).

    Even if i could OC, do you think it would be possible getting it from 2.7 up to 4??? If I decide to OC it, im gonna go with a 'perma' OC, using the new improved clock standardly, so it shouldn't be something that'll keep it at 90 degrees celsius from boot to shutdown.

    Anyways, thanks for the advice so far!

    ~Vigorsol
     
  5. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,442 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    i went from Crossfired 4850s to a single 6870 and couldn't be happier. GTS250 SLI or in gasolina's case 2 x 5750 is roughly equal to a single 6870. The fact you could Crossfire with another 6870 down the road is another added bonus.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. vigorsol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    Ah my mobo can't take crossfire as far as i know, only SLI. So 2x Nvidia or 1x Radeon :/

    Lookup the EVGA P55v and you'll see it sucks. have USB 1 D:
     
  7. gasolina

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    38 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
  8. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    5750CF is basically the same spec as a 5850, so the 6870 is still faster.

    Nope, Crossfire is open to Intel's platform by default, unlike SLI which requires an extra license.
    So as long as you P55 board have the slots, you should be able to CF on it.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  9. vigorsol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    Ok thanks alot :) so basicly, it can CF. Though im gonna start with a single 6870, i think my first upgrade after that will be a http://www.komplett.dk/k/ki.aspx?sku=513219#extra click the link and you will see. That site is danish, I'd prefer the hardware i buy to be from there. that's their only 1156 socket, it's a nice price; 999DKK = 175 USD.

    After that I'll prob get either another 6870 for crossfire or some more / better RAM, seeing as the new mobo can take 1600 Mhz :)
     
  10. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,357 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    760
    u can try a SLi Patch or anatolymik's HyperSLi: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=153046

    and it works i tried a SLi Patch with 2 x 8800GT's back in the days.
     
  11. vigorsol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark

    It already has SLI enabled, but it says nothing about crossfire, but I'm assuming that it can do crossfire due to an earlier post here, which states that it should be able to.
     
  12. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,442 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    get the 6870 last :D once the HD7000 series comes out, the 6000s should drop in price.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. timma New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    86 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    6870 +1 likes gigabyte 6870 OC windforce 3x,three fans!:roll:
     
  14. vigorsol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
  15. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,959 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,993
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ive had the Saphire one for over a year. No complaints
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page