1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2500k @ 4.5Ghz help

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by C4rnage, Nov 8, 2011.

  1. C4rnage New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Al lyou need to do is set CPU votlage to 1.35v, then up multi, one at a time, booting into windows each time. If your CPU fails to hit the 45 multi, then you might want to enable PLL overvoltage. I recommend not using that option, however.

    When you hit 45, then back down the voltage 0.025v at a time until you are no longer stable. Then go back up in voltage, while fine tuning for the exact voltage needed.

    Should only take a couple of hours at MOST.
  3. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Well, try 45*100 at, say, 1.3v and see if it is stable. RAM can stay at 1600, but you may need more VTT voltage (memory controller voltage) to handle 4 sticks. If your RAM is stable at 1600 CL9 then I don't think you should have a problem OCing your core. If it isn't stable at 4.5GHz 1.3v then it may need some more voltage (I'd personally go 1.35v max) or a lower frequency. If you find a huge difference in voltage requirements between a 100-200MHz interval then I would just stick with the best voltage to MHz ratio. Your cooler is very good but make sure to keep things around 80c or less max. Let us know if you have any more questions.

    EDIT: Cadaveca got it lol.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. C4rnage New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Setting vcore at 1.35, by manually i guess, not by offset
  5. C4rnage New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    havent tried oc yet, but i cant find any voltage setting to VTT
  6. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    ASUS calls it VCCIO, default is 1.05v I believe. I think 1.1-1.2v on that is safe, but you should only raise it if you have instability with 4 DIMMs.

    If you come across a voltage called VCCSA (0.925v default) it is recommended not to touch it at all. VCCSA is Intel System Agent that I believe monitors/controls all the voltages for the chip as well as power management.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    621 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    Try simply changing the multi to 45, and leave the voltages on auto. Your board should dial you in pretty close for 4.5Ghz.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page