1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2500k OC problem with memory speed.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by ezkiller69, Feb 3, 2012.

  1. ezkiller69 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hello all.
    Have a msi z68a-gd55 (b3) motherboard with 2500k and 16gb ram. I just upgraded my memory from 8gb to 16 gb because the ram was on sale before u ask why. its g.skill sniper 1.25v ram 1600mhz. now when i overclocked with 8 gb i was running at 800mhz but when i ad the other 8gb total (16gb) with the same setting and run memtest of course my ram says its running at 713mhz and my blck is 89mhz.. but if i put the cpu to stock speed it will run at 800mhz with 16gb. i have no issues with 8gb at all overclocked or not. i thought the cpu overclocking and ram speed were seperated on the z68 chipset im not sure. or is it because all 4 slots are populated and chipset cant handle it so it knocks down the speed help is greatly appreciated.. ty I hope i didnt post in the wrong forum:banghead:
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    i think there is some error in the speed reporting. What says you are running 89mhz on teh bclk?
     
  3. ezkiller69 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    on memtest it gives u the blck speed
     
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    memtest isn't reading right, known issue. on My gigabyte boards, it says 89, 79, 75, 100, 125, and only 100 is right, but that rarely shows. It needs an update.
     
  5. ezkiller69 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    but how come when i put the cpu back to stock speed it shows 800mhz and the blck is at 100 the way its suppose to be is because there is a bug with memtest overclocks?
     
  6. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    that ram has a profile to run @ 800 set it in the bios shoud run fine ,mine does, ....you might have to up the ran Voltage a bit because of the 4 stix but all should be good
     
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    yes, it seems memtest doesn't fully support UEFI BIOSes yet, so the reporting is flawed. Whether it works or not changes from board to board, and is also dependant on settings in BIOS, too. Same problem with Intel or AMD UEFI, that i can tell.

    How come? I dunno, I did not write the program, and am not a programmer...I have jsut experienced this same problem on nearly every motherboard i've reviewed of the past 8 months or so. Like I said, this is a "known" issue. Memtest has not been updated since late 2010, and basically every curernt platform was released after that.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,569 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
    Or AWARD either;) Not just UEFI boards.
     
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    MSI doesn't use AWARD, and neither does Gigabyte anymore.
     
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,569 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
    Doesn't mean the issue isn't there ones out in the wild. Wasn't a personal attack bro, relax! I was just showing that it is that much of a universal issue that memtest86+ needs an update.
     
  11. ezkiller69 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    well is cpu-z the best tool to use check ram frequency or another program in windows ?
     
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yep, CPU-Z is very good, or you should be able to confirm in BIOS as well.

    See inside the yellow box(that's from my GD65, but the GD55 should be similar):

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  13. ezkiller69 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    ah good point forgot all about the bios yeah i dont have the fancy screen like the gd65 lol gd55 is way more basic. appreciate all your help. everybody.
     
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, sry, MSI has only ever sent me the one product, so I'm not too familiar with the others. Do let us know how it all works out!
     
  15. ezkiller69 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    i will soon as i get on tonight.. ty

    ***update*** problem solved it seems memtest is buggy bios reads 1600mhz and cpu-z reads 800mhz so ram is operating where its supposed to be thank you guys for your input was appreciated. mad at myself should have new better dammit...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2012
    Chicken Patty and cadaveca say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page