1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2500K Stuck at 1.6Ghz - Idle and Under Load

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by ArmoredCavalry, Nov 18, 2011.

  1. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    So, I have run into a bit of an issue. It seems no matter what settings I use in the Bios with my setup, my 2500K is now stuck at a sluggish 1.6 GHZ.

    Earlier this week I got a new cooler (CNPS9900 MAX), and had overclocked to ~5GHZ. The overclock seemed pretty stable with no issues for the past 2-days.

    Then, today, I noticed the computer was acting pretty sluggish. I rebooted and the problem persisted. At that point I pulled open Asus AI Suite 2, which shows the cpu is stuck at a constant x16 multiplier, usually only used for idle....

    Anyone know what the hell is going on? I have tried everything I can imagine (including resetting the entire bios to default). I'm pretty much out of ideas at this point... It seems like it is either a) a hardware issue (which seems bizarre), or b) Some software in windows
     
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,954 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    Try disabling all the power saving shit in the bios... C1E, Speedstep, anything like that you can find.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tried this, but with no luck.

    I am going to try to change the CPU ratio from AUTO to something higher than 16 and see if that even picks up...
     
  4. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I only have a first gen i7, but I never use auto settings, can't trust them... Do you have latest bios version for your motherboard?
     
  5. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    I have the latest BIOS.

    I actually just 'fixed' the issue. :toast:

    Now, mind you, I had already shut down (not rebooted, but actually shut down), with no luck. On a hunch, I figured I would also try shutting down again, but also unplugging and waiting 15 seconds then plugging back in. Somehow, that fixed what resetting the entire BIOS could not.

    Maybe it was a PSU issue? I have no idea really, I'm just extremely glad it is fixed after an hour of tinkering. Hopefully this thread helps someone else if they run into this issue.
     
  6. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    903 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    242
  7. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
  8. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Nice job whatever you did! Lot's of bucks saved there....
     
  9. twilyth Guest

    Two things I'd like to point out.

    1. Unless you have a case that gives you access to the PSU power switch (most do), you need to actually unplug the pc to do a 'cold boot'. The reason is that, just like most modern electronics, 'off' doesn't mean 'off'. It means 'I'm just taking a nap.' Some electronics use almost as much juice when they're off as when operating. In those cases, it's not even a nap, they're just faking. I've never checked, but I suspect current draw on a pc that's 'off' is probably nominal. Even so, any current is enough to preserve whatever problem you had.

    2. To properly clear the CMOS, you need to kill power at the psu either with the switch, or if that's not accessible, by pulling the plug. Then you need to remove the CMOS battery (usually a CR2025 or 2032 button battery). Next you have to jumper the appropriate pins on the CLRTC jumpers. Finally, you need to wait at least 30 seconds. I've had motherboards where it takes that long for the capacitors to discharge even when jumpered.

    If you don't follow those steps in that order, you may think you've reset the bios when in fact you haven't.
     
  10. Gambit389 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I agree with Twilyth, that's how I recovered from a overclock gone bad.

    If the jumper trick doesn't solve then I proceed with checking psu,cpu and mobo.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page