1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

256-bit GPU is more powerful than 512-bit?!

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by F430, Oct 2, 2007.

  1. F430

    F430 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    332 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    ISRAEL
  2. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Its because the RV670 is clocked higher. It also probably has a few optimisations.

    Ceteris paribus, 512bit will always be better than 256bit.
  3. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    the new gpu supports quad x-fire :eek:
  4. F430

    F430 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    332 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    ISRAEL
    you sure about this ghost101?(i also think like you)lol
  5. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    is this for reallly?
  6. F430

    F430 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    332 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    ISRAEL
    yes dod it's look like this :nutkick:
  7. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    The 512bit bus will be better but only if there is enough bandwidth to utilise it, many say that rarely does more than 256bit of bandwidth get used or is required, a handy comparison is if you look at the 1950XT/XTX (512), they were faster cards than the 7900GTX (256) in many benches but I am willing to bet it was not the 512bit bus that was the reason why, better architecture....higher core speeds and so forth were the main reasons.
  8. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    so what would u buy tatty?
  9. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    It looks like AMD is fixing the core that ATi f'ed up... :laugh:

    Tatty_One,
    Except that X1950XT/XTX has 256bit memory bus, not 512bit.
  10. F430

    F430 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    332 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    ISRAEL
    OK then Don't Worry, Be Happy? like the song of Bob Marley;)
  11. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    Bob are teh king ...
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    The XTX GDDR4 had 512bit bus??
  13. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Nope.

    It's the R580 GPU's internal ring bus that is 512bit, as it is in R520 and RV570 too.
  14. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Sorry my mistake, I was thinking 512bit internal memory ringbus :eek:
  15. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    between?
  16. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    2900pro vs 2950 pro?

    looks like teh 2950 is teh player for me ... i wouldnt need a new power supply ...
  17. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Well TBH I would wait till they are both out and tested, I think both will be very good value, as per performance......I am not totally convinced that a 2900Pro will match a 2900XT overclocked, but then what do you expect for the money? at this time I would guess that the 2950 is probably going to be the better but none of us really knows till they are both here.
  18. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i agree with tatty, the bus may be wider, but it needs to be fully utilized too. ati/amd has always had better architecture, and the ati clocks are better. the 2900xt is suppossed to be theretically faster due to specs but its got something wrong with its shaders and stuff so assuming that ati has fixed this problem. the 2950 is good to go.
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    look at it this way the stock 128bit 7600GT can keep up with the stock 256bit 7800GS, but once you vmod both the difference is startling 700mhz core clock on the 7800GS out does the 770mhz core you can get on a 7600GT ;)
  20. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Not exactly.
    The bulk (256) of those 320 stream processors in R600 are too simple to be used in majority of pixel shading operations, infact saying there's 320 shaders is technically incorrect. There's 64 packs of simple stream processor with 4 simple execution units and 1 more complex unit in each.

    R600 "shaders" are far from being comparable to those in G80 or former GPUs from ATi.
    RV670 shares the same basic architecture with R600 so don't expect significant clock-2-clock improvements nor better or more efficient AA...
    It seems the thing AMD fixed was the power consumption and the expensive PCB.
  21. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Every single card in PCI-E that AMD/ATi has released will support that...if they want them too.
  22. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i was close enough. theoretically by the specs it should be kicking g80, but seeing that the stream proc problem is there thats what held the 2900xt back, i'm hoping that ati/amd have corrected this.
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    ***off topic***
    lol post your mach64 on hwbot bet you get 1st place :roll:
  24. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    If only it would run some bench marks.....
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    rofl 3dmark2k1 should work

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page