1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2560x1440 IPS 27" LED Monitor on the Cheap!

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by erocker, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    Need and want are two different things. :p
     
    NHKS and AlienIsGOD say thanks.
  2. BumbleBee

    BumbleBee

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4,860 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,302
    Location:
    Cybertron aka Canada
    you will need a NEC or Eizo monitor and ATI FirePro/GL card.
     
    theJesus says thanks.
  3. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    Oh poop, didn't think about the card :( Nvm lol
     
  4. BumbleBee

    BumbleBee

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4,860 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,302
    Location:
    Cybertron aka Canada
    hmm imagine that :eek:
     
    Wrigleyvillain says thanks.
  5. voklskier4452

    voklskier4452

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    185 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    VT
    Got mine last monday. It shipped really quickly and it powered right up when I was finally able to test it. It came with an adapter so that I could use the Type C cable but the adapter was crap. Used a spare PSU cable and everything is all good. Monitor looks great so far, minimal light bleed as far as I can tell. No dead/stuck pixels that I can see. The stand is absolute rubbish but it looks like I might have lucked out and received a monitor with speakers after buying one without speakers.

    Overall It was well worth the $350 I spent from bigclothcraft. I plan on getting a VESA mount asap this summer but getting parts for my rig upgrade are taking precedence over that :p.
     
  6. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah if I wasn't going to Europe in a month I probably woulda bought one of these already. Been on 1200P for many years.
     
  7. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,541 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    938
    Is everybody still getting the catleap? My friend got the Crossover. Looks a bit better with a better stand.
     
  8. Califmike33 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Im debating which one to get.
     
  9. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    SO I finally got to test my screen for like 5 seconds. My father accidentally knocked it over and it fell, on it's back thankfully, but it was quite a drop from my desk. No damage was done, everything seems to work and as far as I could tell in the couple minutes I got to test it there were no dead pixels or dust. The stand is OK after you play with it, the fact that it turn upwards is cool, but of no real use. 1280x720 works, so it seems it does have a pixel doubler, but I can't make my ps3 work on 720p :( Oh well.

    I can't wait to play with it some more next time I go back to my house (2~3weeks)

    I got the PCBANK PB2700 btw
     
  10. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    ^ Christ. Lay off the whiskey dad!
     
  11. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    He was actually cleaning my room for no apparently reason, so I'm not mad :p
     
    BumbleBee says thanks.
  12. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    483 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    so how much do these monitors work out at after import tax and vat to uk?
    i would really like to get one 19" targa monitor is pretty outdated now..
    if all i was paying was £220 -230 i would have already got one but something tells me id be getting stuck with a bill for around £280 -300 :/
     
  13. neliz

    neliz MSI Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    329 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Big chance it won't be taxed at all because of the lower value declared on the CI.
     
  14. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    483 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    what do you mean ci? well that sounds great so i would be paying vat on top of that so it would be about £270 :/ still a good deal just out of my price range
     
  15. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    I bought mine off dcsamsungmall here to the U.S. ordered on friday was here on Monday. $348.99 free ship no tax. xD

    tempered glass no speakers, I love it. the colors are so beautiful with the 6500k ICC profile.
     
    Ross211 says thanks.
  16. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    471 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    Kansas
    I've been keeping an eye on the Catleap threads across HardOCP, Overclock.net, and TPU... I finally decided to make the purchase. I'm willing to take a bit of a gamble, if you want to call it that, lol.

    I ordered last night at 4 AM Central Time from dcsamsungmall and just got my FedEx tracking number. FedEx says delivery by 4-23, I hope it gets here sooner !
     
  17. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,541 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    938
    My friend just got his Crossover. No dead or stuck pixels, just a slight unevenness. He came down 8 notches from max brightness and applied the profile for blue tinting, though it was nearly perfect already. Interestingly the difference between 2xMSAA and 8x was very visible on a fence in Dirt 3. Wasn't expecting that at this res. Have to say the Crossover is by far the best looking of these monitors, better (external) build quality than any of the name brand 1440p displays.
     
  18. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    471 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    Kansas
    I got my Catleap today (2 days from South Korea to Kansas via FedEx - dcsamsungmall was the seller). FedEx missed delivery at 1:45 PM today but I was able to get them to come back and try a second deliver. I was amazed, they were back at my door within an hour with the Catleap. I called their customer support and was able to talk to someone right away - I had the option of driving to the nearest FedEx warehouse but they mentioned they could put in a request to try delivery again today. I was skeptical but they showed back up fast and it made my day.

    I replaced the stock DVI cable with a different dual link DVI cable from a local PC shop today. I have one light green pixel that shows up only on a black screen. I've looked for dead pixels using UDPixel and can't seem to find any other than the light green one visible on a full black screen. Does this mean this pixel is a stuck pixel and not a dead pixel ?

    I'm definitely going to replace the stand, probably with an Ergotron Neoflex.

    Here's some photos of the Catleap - Looking at code in Notepad++ is great in this res :D I can't wait for some BF3 here later :rockout:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    NHKS says thanks.
  19. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    That would be a stuck "bright" pixel. Some small business monitors qualify for a swap with that (like my HP ZR30w) and I actually have one stuck green pixel as well. Nearly impossible to notice unless you're looking at something dark in the area. I've been so barely bothered by it, that I haven't bothered calling HP since January when I got the screen.
     
    Ross211 says thanks.
  20. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    You can always try the messaging etc, there are a few methods that can unstuck a pixel, google it. If it is near the middle of the screen I'd try to fix it, if not I would maybe only try the less risky methods
     
  21. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah stuck is preferable to dead. May be able to rectify.
     
  22. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    BUT a stuck pixel is much more annoying then a dead one
     
  23. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Well I'd say the degree to which that is true depends on where it is exactly and how you generally use your display. DanishDevil says he has "barely been bothered" by his.
     
  24. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I think that stuck pixel is always more annoying as it stands out more. A dead pixel can blend in with the darker colors no problem, a stuck Green pixel will only blend in in green/white

    1 pixel in 2560x1440 won't bother many people really, whether stuck or dead
     
  25. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Agreed.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page