1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2560x1440 IPS 27" LED Monitor on the Cheap!

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by erocker, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    461 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Kansas
    This is hands down the best purchase I've made in the last year. The single green stuck pixel showing on blacks I have in the lower bottom right hasn't bothered me. You almost have to look for it whenever the screen is black. Its just 1 tiny pixel out of 3,686,400 pixels, such a minor imperfection in my opinion. I can definitely live with it, even if I did have more than 1.

    BF3 in 2560x1440 is amazing. Its running great on my single GTX 570 with all High settings, 16x AF, FXAA High, and with 110 FOV. It usually stays above 45 FPS, but can dip into the 30s when there is a bunch of action going on.

    I bought an Ergotron Neoflex stand off Amazon last night for $34 new shipped and got the last one from a merchant called Tech for Less :p

    I really like the Ergotron mount erocker has but the cheapest I could find it was around $70 :cry:
  2. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Damn that's a high FOV isn't it all fish-eyed and shit?

    Yeah most that have bought one claim it's their best purchase in awhile.
  3. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,510 (13.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,918
  5. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,661 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    So these monitors are worth the hype, eh?
  6. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    I guess so, they are really good for what they cost. :)
  7. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    How did you get BF3 to go to 110? mine only goes to 90. Mod?

    Not really, I have skyrim on 100 degrees and I've got a 1080p monitor.
  8. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,661 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm looking for a new monitor. Getting rid of my duals and going to a single 27 inch. I may buy one if they are worth it.
  9. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    461 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Kansas
    Hehe, I like to see as much as possible :D

    Via the in game menu you are only allowed to go up to 90. However, you can edit your main configuration file to go above 90. Here is some info that will help, this is taken from Nvidia's Battlefield 3 Tweak Guide -
    Here is a URL to the Nvidia Battlefield 3 Tweak Guide - http://www.geforce.com/optimize/guides/battlefield-3-tweak-guide/#12
  10. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Wonder why that dude is selling and why on eBay where he has to pay them 10%.
  11. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,734 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,597
    This is much easier, it's a config tool made by TPU's Mindweaver.

    BF3 Config Utility
    Ross211 says thanks.
  12. Califmike33 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    He said in his ad that its to big for his desktop....hmmmmm:wtf: i would try to sell it on a forum and save the ebay fees.
  13. Necrofire

    Necrofire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    586 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Having come from a 21" 1080p TN monitor, I'd say it was definitely worth it.
    However, you do run the risk of getting a non-perfect monitor, and it almost isn't worth it to ship it back.


    "Too big for my desk"
    Looks fine in the picture, wonder if that's why he's selling it.
  14. BumbleBee

    BumbleBee

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4,829 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,285
    Location:
    Cybertron aka Canada
    I don't think anybody is going to ship it back to Korea lol
  15. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    It takes up literally half my desk.... I don't care :D
  16. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    461 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Kansas
    I wrangled with my Catleap today and got it apart. I actually managed to remove the back arch and the original stand without having to unhook the 3 cables connected to the panel. I tilted the panel up on the bottom and top to get the screws out holding the original stand and arch.

    [​IMG]
    ^I suggest having the monitor on the backside when taking the bezel off. This is one thing that is not mentioned in the guide to take the stand off that is on overclock.net

    [​IMG]
    ^Man I need to clean the front grills on my case.
  17. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Do want :O
  18. will

    will

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    455 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Hereford, England
    Got one of these a few weeks ago and it's amazing. No dead pixels or anything! I got the one with the decent stand (Crossover LED-P) and I love it! When I put it next to my old TN the image difference is ridiculous, the TN just looks really faded and washed out.

    One thing though is that when you look at it from an angle (most noticeable from above) the blacks go really grey. Is this normal for an IPS? Anyone else experience this? All other colours are fine, it's just the blacks that suffer. Quite annoying because even when looking straight on you can see it in the corners and along the bottom (when there's black there).
  19. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    subbed

    I have been thinking about getting a better monitor setup over the summer. Either a eyefinity setup, or a really nice monitor that isn't too expensive. This fits the really nice monitor bill and isn't outrageous on price.

    What do you think? Eyefinity or catleap?
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Sounds like backlight bleed, I do have some though nothing worth worrying about and it's still miles better than my old Sammy TN panel :toast:
  21. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Sounds more like IPS glow- normal for IPS screens although the degree to which it is visible does vary between brands and units. I have it ever so slightly on the bottom right corner of my Ultrasharp.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    Are you guys procuring your Crossovers / Catleaps from eBay?
  23. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Oh yea, got mine for £240, in context you would be lucky finding an 27" "HD" (1920x1080p) monitor in that price range, let alone 2560x1440 IPS, basically would pay double that for something locally :toast:
    helloWorld says thanks.
  24. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    I am interested in buying one, like really soon.

    Are you able to hook up the monitor to GPU with a single HDMI or DVI-D? My GPU has one mini-HDMI port and two DVI.
  25. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    helloworld, yes its DVI only. and yes I bought mine from DCsamsungmall on ebay.
    helloWorld says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page