1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2560x1440 IPS 27" LED Monitor on the Cheap!

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by erocker, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,730 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,942
    You will have to let us know what you get
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,951 (13.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,378
    There's a heck of a deal for $299 shipped on ebay. "PERFCT PIXEL" ------ PC Bank 3 View PB2700 27" LED computer Monitor in-Speaker"

    No dead pixels. The stand looks horrible, but I'd use my own stand. Prices seems to be getting better and better and I can live with my faint red line in my monitor for now. I have other things I need to purchase at the moment. :)
     
  3. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I bought the PCBank for 325 :(

    It's a great monitor but the stand is so wobbly xD I can live with it though
     
  4. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,684 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I bought a catleap (Yamakasi) with Tempered Glass a few weeks ago. I love it so far, mine does NOT overclock. I have a 2nd 6970 on the way so that my framerates go back up. I also have a monitor stand on the way. The provided stand is bad, as in I fear for breaking my monitor if I am not cradling the display when I push the on button.

    Keep in mind I am coming from a SP2309W with 2048x1152, with bad color accuracy so it did not take much to top it.

    Thats rough man, I bought my pane from Greensum on ebay, the packaging was a little beat up but my display was in great shape (I also got a warranty).
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2012
  5. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,179 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    586
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,951 (13.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,378
    They seem to do a lot of talking about input lag due to the scaler. Don't like input lag, use DVI-D, not the HDMI port.
     
  7. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,684 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Does that work? I thought it either had the scalier and the monitor uses it on all ports or you bought a monitor without.
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,951 (13.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,378
    I know on the Yamakasi Q270's it works that way.
     
    Random Murderer and GSG-9 say thanks.
  9. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,684 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Good to know, if I pick up a second I might get one with a scaler then. IF i ever game across two monitors I can't see it being in a shooter, so the input lag should not matter.
     
  10. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,476 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I Bought the Catleap 3 weeks back, and it's been amazing ever since. Zero issues. Even got the Square Trade warranty just in case.
     
  11. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,684 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I got the same warranty, overclocking failed very hard even at 70hz, took some fiddling to get it up again but the attempted oc caused no damage.
     
  12. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,730 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,942
    This is my current monitor.
    http://store.vizio.com/vm230xvt.html
    Actually a tv. It has a great picture. But I have never seen anything better to compare it with.

    So how much of an upgrade would one of these be? The specs say much better. I am slightly worried about the refresh rate. I have never had anything faster or slower than 5ms.

    Comparing specs
    27in vs 23 in
    25560 x 1440 vs 1920 x 1080
    80,000:1 DCR vs 20,000 Dynamic Contrast Ratio
    1.07 Billion Colors Vs 16.7 Million Colors
    6-6.5ms Vs 5ms Response time
    178/178 vs 160/150 degrees (horizontal/vertical)
    350 vs 300 brightness
    60 vs 60 refresh rate
    108.79 ppi vs 98.78 ppi
    .2331 vs .2652 dot pitch
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Well, you'd gain in monitor size of course and resolution altogether is something that will leave you breathless, I assure.
    When I jumped from 1920x1200 to 2560x1600 I literally got stunned by the resolution alone and the IPS panel is wow, I was on a SPVA so the colours were good but let me tell you, if you switch from a TN to IPS you'll love it.
     
  14. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,730 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,942
    Well ya 27>23. That bit on being stunned on resolution is kinda why I want one in the first place.
    Also 1.07 Billion > 16.7 million. Is that even noticeable?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,951 (13.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,378
    Yes. Believe me, once you have the two side by side you'll realize what you're missing. I had a very nice Samsung 24" 1920x1200 monitor and this Catleap makes it look bad.
     
  16. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,684 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I'm not sure you can go wrong. I will say with a single 6950 flashed to 6970 my gaming felt a little sluggish, I am hoping the second 6970 will fix that.
     
  17. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,730 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,942
    I think have moved from maybe I will, to will. Two of these is over budget and could not fit on my desk as is. If I got two I would want a third and then next thing I know I have spent $1000. Either 1 or 3 for me.

    Not to mention I want to upgrade my gpu also. I am looking at 7970 or 670. The bitcoin miner in me wants 7970 and the gamer wants the 670. My ears want the asus 670 top.

    I plan to get all this over the summer some time.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,976 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Ohio
    Wait, people still do bitcoins? :confused:
     
  19. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    yea I guess, but I lost interest in it after paying off my computer with it lmao

    profits are as big as before :p

    a second 6970 helps a lot at this resolution... as long as you have the 2GB versions on both cards
     
    theJesus says thanks.
  20. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,684 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Good to hear, its a 6970 Flex Edition (2Gb) on the way and I have a 6950 2Gb flashed to 6970 with Icy Vision cooler.
     
  21. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    yep, great stuff

    I kinda regret not going for GTX 670 instead of 2x 6970s though... price diff is only 50$ more for the 670 :(
     
  22. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,684 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I am having the EXACT same thoughts after seeing the Asus 670 review. But I have had one of my 6970's for a while now, the $200 investment was the smart investment.
     
  23. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    yea I bought 2x 6950 unlocked for 350$ :/

    I might try to resell my cards with no loss, we'll see
     
  24. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,730 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,942
    Oh wow yes. A lot of people are starting to move to fgpa's though. Price of a bitcoin is $5 right now. The bitcoin community grows every day.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Conti027

    Conti027

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Edmonds, Washington
    WTF is bitcoin? I can make money with my computer?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page