1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2560x1440 IPS 27" LED Monitor on the Cheap!

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by erocker, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,081 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,396
    You will have to let us know what you get
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,266 (12.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,850
    There's a heck of a deal for $299 shipped on ebay. "PERFCT PIXEL" ------ PC Bank 3 View PB2700 27" LED computer Monitor in-Speaker"

    No dead pixels. The stand looks horrible, but I'd use my own stand. Prices seems to be getting better and better and I can live with my faint red line in my monitor for now. I have other things I need to purchase at the moment. :)
     
  3. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,869 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,408
    I bought the PCBank for 325 :(

    It's a great monitor but the stand is so wobbly xD I can live with it though
     
  4. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,702 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I bought a catleap (Yamakasi) with Tempered Glass a few weeks ago. I love it so far, mine does NOT overclock. I have a 2nd 6970 on the way so that my framerates go back up. I also have a monitor stand on the way. The provided stand is bad, as in I fear for breaking my monitor if I am not cradling the display when I push the on button.

    Keep in mind I am coming from a SP2309W with 2048x1152, with bad color accuracy so it did not take much to top it.

    Thats rough man, I bought my pane from Greensum on ebay, the packaging was a little beat up but my display was in great shape (I also got a warranty).
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2012
  5. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,227 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,266 (12.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,850
    They seem to do a lot of talking about input lag due to the scaler. Don't like input lag, use DVI-D, not the HDMI port.
     
  7. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,702 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Does that work? I thought it either had the scalier and the monitor uses it on all ports or you bought a monitor without.
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,266 (12.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,850
    I know on the Yamakasi Q270's it works that way.
     
    Random Murderer and GSG-9 say thanks.
  9. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,702 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Good to know, if I pick up a second I might get one with a scaler then. IF i ever game across two monitors I can't see it being in a shooter, so the input lag should not matter.
     
  10. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    221
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I Bought the Catleap 3 weeks back, and it's been amazing ever since. Zero issues. Even got the Square Trade warranty just in case.
     
  11. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,702 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I got the same warranty, overclocking failed very hard even at 70hz, took some fiddling to get it up again but the attempted oc caused no damage.
     
  12. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,081 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,396
    This is my current monitor.
    http://store.vizio.com/vm230xvt.html
    Actually a tv. It has a great picture. But I have never seen anything better to compare it with.

    So how much of an upgrade would one of these be? The specs say much better. I am slightly worried about the refresh rate. I have never had anything faster or slower than 5ms.

    Comparing specs
    27in vs 23 in
    25560 x 1440 vs 1920 x 1080
    80,000:1 DCR vs 20,000 Dynamic Contrast Ratio
    1.07 Billion Colors Vs 16.7 Million Colors
    6-6.5ms Vs 5ms Response time
    178/178 vs 160/150 degrees (horizontal/vertical)
    350 vs 300 brightness
    60 vs 60 refresh rate
    108.79 ppi vs 98.78 ppi
    .2331 vs .2652 dot pitch
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,028 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    816
    Location:
    Italy
    Well, you'd gain in monitor size of course and resolution altogether is something that will leave you breathless, I assure.
    When I jumped from 1920x1200 to 2560x1600 I literally got stunned by the resolution alone and the IPS panel is wow, I was on a SPVA so the colours were good but let me tell you, if you switch from a TN to IPS you'll love it.
     
  14. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,081 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,396
    Well ya 27>23. That bit on being stunned on resolution is kinda why I want one in the first place.
    Also 1.07 Billion > 16.7 million. Is that even noticeable?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,266 (12.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,850
    Yes. Believe me, once you have the two side by side you'll realize what you're missing. I had a very nice Samsung 24" 1920x1200 monitor and this Catleap makes it look bad.
     
  16. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,702 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I'm not sure you can go wrong. I will say with a single 6950 flashed to 6970 my gaming felt a little sluggish, I am hoping the second 6970 will fix that.
     
  17. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,081 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,396
    I think have moved from maybe I will, to will. Two of these is over budget and could not fit on my desk as is. If I got two I would want a third and then next thing I know I have spent $1000. Either 1 or 3 for me.

    Not to mention I want to upgrade my gpu also. I am looking at 7970 or 670. The bitcoin miner in me wants 7970 and the gamer wants the 670. My ears want the asus 670 top.

    I plan to get all this over the summer some time.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,985 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    866
    Location:
    Ohio
    Wait, people still do bitcoins? :confused:
     
  19. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,869 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,408
    yea I guess, but I lost interest in it after paying off my computer with it lmao

    profits are as big as before :p

    a second 6970 helps a lot at this resolution... as long as you have the 2GB versions on both cards
     
    theJesus says thanks.
  20. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,702 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Good to hear, its a 6970 Flex Edition (2Gb) on the way and I have a 6950 2Gb flashed to 6970 with Icy Vision cooler.
     
  21. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,869 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,408
    yep, great stuff

    I kinda regret not going for GTX 670 instead of 2x 6970s though... price diff is only 50$ more for the 670 :(
     
  22. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,702 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I am having the EXACT same thoughts after seeing the Asus 670 review. But I have had one of my 6970's for a while now, the $200 investment was the smart investment.
     
  23. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,869 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,408
    yea I bought 2x 6950 unlocked for 350$ :/

    I might try to resell my cards with no loss, we'll see
     
  24. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,081 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,396
    Oh wow yes. A lot of people are starting to move to fgpa's though. Price of a bitcoin is $5 right now. The bitcoin community grows every day.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. Conti027

    Conti027

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Edmonds, Washington
    WTF is bitcoin? I can make money with my computer?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page