1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2560x1440 IPS 27" LED Monitor on the Cheap!

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by erocker, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    I'm now rocking three of the Crossover 27" models with this panel. They are fantastic and I got them at a steal. They still aren't as good as my Dell 30" but they are amazing for $300 each, sheeeeyit.
  2. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,337 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,475
    Amazing. Pic?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,824 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    How are the stands on the crossovers? they look good..
  4. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    I got a second 1440p coming today. Giving my QNIX to my Dad for his bday, and I have a white edition Shimian coming today. xD Can't wait.

    1440p is more beautiful then I ever thought possible, runs circles around 1080p imo.
  5. Luke

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    216 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    I have ordered 5 Catleaps from greensum and the only issue so far is one of them was missing the power adapter but the seller was very fast to send me a new adapter

    Other then that i haven't even had a dead pixel yet

    Now i just need to find a triple monitor stand that can hold 27" screens
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  6. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    very nice. if nothing else, you could wall mount 1 of them, then use stands and have them angling toward the one that is wall mounted, but if your desk is that big, i guess u could just have all 3 on your desk, heh... lol nm
  7. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,421 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,146
    They have wall-mounts that extend out and swivel and the like. Worst case scenario, the middle monitor sits on the desk and the two on the sides are wall-mounted and angled towards the center.
  8. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
  9. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    tell your reseller, he should send you a functioning one

    I have no idea if its good or not, but 60w seems too small
  10. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,151 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    IIRC these monitors pull like 75-80W.
  11. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
  12. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,337 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,475
    What happened to your qnix
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Read above posts, I told you I gave it my Dad for his bday and my new one came in today. :nutkick:
  14. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,337 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,475
    Missed that one line :ohwell:
    Phusius says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,151 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I really don't know, but I've read about a few situations like yours and the sellers usually come through fairly quick. They might not reply immediately due to the time difference... but I get your pain. Having a gorgeous monitor on your desk and not being able to use it... :ohwell:
    Phusius says thanks.
  16. Luke

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    216 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    I don't know what seller you got yours from but when mine was missing the power adapter the seller had a new one sent out in less then 24hours and arrived in 3 working days

    Your situation is a little different as you have a faulty one so i don't know if they will expect it to be sent back
  17. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Bought mine from ta-planet, he has like 99.97% positive feedback and seems like he will work with me, his english is terrible though so hopefully he knows what i am asking when i say i need the power brick replaced
  18. dank1983man420

    dank1983man420

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    496 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Near Chicago, IL
    The power brick for my potalion gets pretty warm, but luckily has not popped yet. I would go for the one in the US like you did, but also get the replacement from the seller based on principle (and to have as a spare in case if one goes pop again). I just hope only the power brick went out and didn't send a voltage spike to the TV which could damage it.

    He better not expect you to ship it back over to him or at least pay for your shipping expense...
    Phusius says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    ta-planet just contacted me, he says today the 15th is a Korean holiday which is why he was delayed, but will ship me a new power adapter aug 16. xD I was wondering why there was a delay, because I can tell by this dude's feedback he is a good guy

    edit: we just worked it out, since I already bought a replacement power adapter 24v 5a from california for $23 and change, he issued me a $25 refund instead of sending me a new one. here is the one I bought if anyone wondered, he said it should work just fine.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/30055568879...NX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649#ht_1594wt_906

    edit: new link works.
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2012
  20. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,811 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,950
    Glad it worked out for you, and I hope it works flawlessly :)

    Link says listing was removed; I hope that doesn't bode ill ....
    Link works ;) Looks like you'll be back in business again soon :toast:
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2012
    Phusius says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,151 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Glad it worked out for you! I hope your monitor still works. Keep us posted!
  22. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,651 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,765
    Location:
    Chicago
  23. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,238 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    My Catleap pulled around 59W, according to the watt meter: that's 13 less then my previous monitor @ 1920/1200.

    Other then the "small" hitch with the customs charging nearly 50% of the monitor's price, i couldn't be happier with mine.
  24. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    New 24v 5a power brick just came in. Monitor still won't turn on. Just contacted ta_planet to ask him what my options are... guess I am screwed. He already offered me a $25.00 partial refund since I had to buy another power brick. Knew I should have stuck with a regular USA store... damnit. :(

    won't be online for awhile guys, spending the $100+ to mail the Shimian back... all because a power brick overheated... I had it well ventilated too and a little area all to itself... lesson learned. heh.
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2012
  25. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    They are actually pretty decent. I wouldn't say they're as good as the newer DELL stands but they're better than the catleaps crappy little stand. Either way I would go with a better VESA mount, which is what I'm doing. I'll get some pics up soon when my office rebuild is finished and it's not a crazy mess.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page