1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2600k@stock/NH-D14 high temps. Any suggestions?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by mesh, May 14, 2011.

  1. mesh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Im getting high idle's at stock with my NH-D14.
    2600k
    Asus WS Revolution
    8gb g.skill
    corsiar ax1200
    2xevga 580sc's

    Idle @ 40degress
    prime load runs at 59degress and again this is all at stock speeds.

    Any experiences/suggestions? I left it running prime for 20mins and the heat pipes arent hot or even warm i would say. Seems obvious that its some sort of contact issue, but I already re-applied the thermal paste. Im using the paste that came with my NH-D14 by the way. Currently its running on my test bench (open air). Anyone have any thoughts? Thanks in advance.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,127 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,327
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    so you have a pic of the contact pattern with paste you applied?

    I tell ya what..i have 2x2600..one is very hot, the other, not so much.

    what is idle speed?

    what is idle volts?
     
    streetfighter 2 says thanks.
  3. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    Nice rig dude!

    Ditto to what cadaveca said. Also . . .

    What's ambient temp? If it's like 35C or something, then I'm not seeing a problem.

    Also, while you're in the kitchen can you grab me a beer? :D
     
  4. mesh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Thanks! Beer comin' up. All i have is Modelo :toast:


    Okay so coretemp reports 40's as idle and Asus bios (newest version) report 48's about 10 degrees off

    cpu voltage in the asus bios is +1.120
    Core Temp is shoiwng "VID" as 0.98 (idle)
    cpu-z is idleing @ 1605mhz with "core voltage" 0.92 (idle)


    Thanks in advance by the way.
     
  5. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    Ambient temps must be high if you have Modelo. :laugh:
    The BIOS usually has a light load on the CPU which should make the temp higher in the BIOS vs. Windows. (I'm certain this is still true for the standard ASUS P8P67 w/ 2600K because I tested it myself.)
    Looks normal to me.

    You're sure the heatsink is firmly/evenly seated? You check the contact pattern with the paste as cadaveca mentioned?
     
  6. mesh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Will do. Thanks guys. I found a Stella dude! Wanna call it? :)

    Thanks for taking the time cadaveca. Ill snap a pic and post. Peace.
     
  7. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    so r u overclocked at all or are u at normal speed? If u are at normal speed I would say its a little high
     
  8. mesh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Thats whats making me sad lol. This is at stock. Below are the thermal paste patches.

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
  9. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    588 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    hows the weather over there? summer winter?
     
  10. mesh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0


    Los Angeles so its somewhat warm, but not scorching.
     
  11. meran

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    470 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    baghdad/iraq
    seems bad contact is the cooler base concaved or the cpu??

    because im using cooler master v8 in iraq (you know how hot here) with my q9560 oced to 3.6 doesnt touch 60c 4ghz @1.25about 68-70c
     
    streetfighter 2 says thanks.
  12. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    mesh, that's definitely an insufficient application of thermal paste. You want the full area of the CPU's heat spreader to have an incredibly thin layer of thermal paste to maximize contact area.

    The die of the 2600K is a good bit longer than it is wide so I opted for the two line method of paste application.
    2600K with die superimposed: http://benchmarkreviews.com/images/reviews/processor/i7-2600K/intel_core_i7_2600K_transparent.jpg
    Two line method: http://benchmarkreviews.com/images/..._Methods/Square_TIM_Application_Two_Lines.jpg

    With regard to flatness of the 2600K, if it's anything like the one I have it's not very good: concave in the center and also dipping at the corners. I'm far too lazy to sand the IHS though :roll:

    Dude, thats an NH-D14 -- it's flatter than flat.
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2011
  13. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,691 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    720
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    streetfighter 2 says thanks.
  14. mesh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just cleaned both my chip and cpu real good like. I do notice that the corners dip. The dipped corners are pretty obvious in the right light. Thanks again.
     
  15. mesh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Thanks for the link to the videos. Line method seems to be the best.
    Edit- the pea method seems to be the best actually. Cool idea with the acrylic piece.
     
  16. Zenith

    Zenith

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    166 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Pea method all the way. I am having my 2600K+D14 overclocked to 4.7GHz with 1.35Vcore and not exceeding 32*C in idle with all power saving options OFF.
     
  17. meran

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    470 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    baghdad/iraq
    wow thats great do u live in a freezer or something:eek: what about load temps?
     
  18. mesh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Im gonna get some sleep, been up since 5am. Tomorrow Im gonna re-seat (pea style) one more time and see what happens. If my temps still suck im then im not what what to try next. Thanks guys, ill let you know tomorrow. Peace
     
  19. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,691 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    720
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    If you have no luck H2o is the way to go

    atb

    Law-II
     
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,127 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,327
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, I've got about 29c-34c idle in a 17c ambient, wwith EIST idle clocks(1600mhz and lowered votlage is EIST clocks).

    You know, I'm using an H70, but with the fans in silent mode...but I do have the D14 and C14, I can toss the D14 on one of my CPUs and see how it does. I'll get around to that in a bit, gotta get some work done on my review for next week.
     
  21. mesh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Thanks dude but you dont have to do that. You gave me an idea though. Im gonna head over to Fry's and buy an h70 and if I find my temps still suck with the H70 im gonna return it for a full refund :). I just woke up so ima head out now. Once installed ill let you know. Peace.
     
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,127 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,327
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    It's actually not that big of a deal..I use the NH-C14 on my SB-based review rig, so mounting the NH-D14 is pretty easy. The review rig is completely seperate from the rig I work and game on, as having my work PC in pieces while writing for reviews would suck! I just need to prioritize my time.

    That said, your temps seem a bit high, but maybe that's all due to ambient. Your load temps are fairly decent, and match mine almost perfectly on the H70.
     
  23. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    Could the 40 degree idle temp be PWM related? As cadaveca says, loads are good, and for good load temps the cooler has to be on right, or damn close to it;)

    My thought is the lack of CFM from Noctua at low speeds would cause a slight raise in idle temps versus most other fans, no?
     
  24. mesh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the replies guys.

    Back, whew! Okay so i purchased the H70 and installed and it seems that its fairly consistent. So the issue is not the Noctua becuase with the H70 I get around the same temps as the Noctua. I would give the edge to the Noctua because it was able to match the H70 but with higher ambient temps. Im sure once ambient rises the H70 will fall behind. Noctua is much, much quieter also. Ill probaby end up returnig the H70 as i dont have any memory clearance issues with my ram which would be the only reason for me to buy this cooler. I will admin that i was expecting more after reading reviews. Could it be that this this chip is extra spicy? Man, am i gonna have to run stock? I cant remember the last time I did that lol. Anyone have any thoughts?
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2011
  25. meran

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    470 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    baghdad/iraq
    oh this is what i call bad luck
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page