1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2900xt 1Gb "adapter not found" 2 cards - long _~~

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by SystemViper, Jul 7, 2008.

1. SystemViper

SystemViper

Thanks Received:
    Please help, my gut says their not burnt but just have corrupt bios or something...

so grab a coffee, lite that cig and put your feet up...

Once apon a time in a small town in connecticut a guy purchased 2 2900gt's from a friend....

Just a little background, i am in my 40's and have been building computers since he z80 and the 8088, so i am not a beginner. i also do programming and business systems as a consultant. Plus many years ago besides tech school i became a MCP in windows 95, so I have lots of expierience in dos from windows for workgroups and other early technoligies. I just can't spell - lol

I purchased 2 - ATI oem 2900xt 1G w/samsung 09 memory chips susposedly GDDR4. these cards were susposedto be working but i was saving them for a specific project and never even fired them up for the last 2 months. I trust the person i purchased them from so I don't believe he would sell me 2 dead cards. No way.

That is what makes me believe that I am just missing something in the fix. I have done a lot of reading and probally put 16 hours in the last week trying different combo's to make them work. but to the serial numbers first...

S/n 180738 029456 ATI RADEON HD2900 XT 1GB
    P/N 102B0070110 000001 made in china.......
    plus both sides of the PCB has Samsung 09's memory chips.

So i purchased the cards and put them on my shelf in anti static bags.
    About 2 weeks ago i got my Blitz extreme to start playing with the cards.
    I put one card in and all the MB lights came on and nothing on the ASUS monitor. Took the first card out and put the second card in and same thing.