1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2900XT bios mod/hard mod

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by mandelore, Oct 1, 2007.

  1. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    Right...I think ive lost it...

    How many months has the 2900xt been out? and the 1gb2900xt...

    and how many things are there to mod the bios, or mod the voltage?? (1gb not supported in atitool)

    im going nuts, want to bash my card with my frikkin soldering iron. The r600 supports software voltage adjustments,

    SO WHY ON EARTH DONT BLOODY ATI FRIKKIN RELEASE SOMETHING TO DO IT WITH!!!!!!!!

    ARGH!!

    I may have to settle for a hard mod, or hexing the bios, but i havent a clue how to hex. ati MUST ofcourse have software for modding the bios, now why wont they give it to us!

    Ill get my voltage adjustments when the card becomes soddin obsolete! this is crazy

    :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:



    /Rant over

    Edit: Having calmed down, (i rarely get this aggrivated) I would like to ask if any1 has had more luck than me scouring the web for any information related to bios modifications on the R600 cards. i know rabit is in the works, but its not making alot of progress. :(
     
  2. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I had a dream last night about a video card bios like a motherboard bios. You could go in and edit any option on the card on boot, just like you do with a motherboard. It also has a CMOS flash pins on the card to reset it when things went bad for standard settings again.

    I have thought about this more today.

    Companies could make different options available with this idea. Setting themselves apart with one another.

    You can do this with a SCSI card so why not with a Video Card?

    People would rave about this idea!!!



    BTW I'm going to need a copy of your bios mandelore.


    I was looking for a hard volt mod on Google and found this thread.......
     
  3. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    i posted my bios on the tpu bios collection, its the one with the stated ram timing of 0.9ns for the 1gb card, great idea about the bios thing, even if it was a dual bios, with windows editing so u dont fux anything up! awsome!

    http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/954/ATI.2900XT.1024.070425.html

    there ya go :)

    edit: yes, most of my searches lead back to techpowerup, does NO ONE ELSE try to find this stuff out, or is the whole portion of the internet dedicated to this left to us to pave out? ;)
     
    DaMulta says thanks.
  4. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    A lot of my searches end up this way ALL the time.
     
  5. Sylvanas New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am in exactly the same boat here, nearly pulling my hair out in search of an application that supports voltage adjustments for my 1GB Powercolor 2900XT. -pray- cmon W1zzard, show us some lovin? :p
     
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Everytime I looked for voltmods for my old ECS KA3 MVP in Google, it brought me back to my own posts here. lol.

    But, I too am interested in how to BIOS mod R600 cards. Kinc is registered here, perhaps somebody should shoot him a pm and ask?
     
  7. binormalkilla New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    340 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Jonesbor, AR United States
    I too am on the search for a volt mod for these cards.....and I'll be damned if I'd soldering resistors to this card....
     
  8. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    So do we have anyone that can edit the bios manually?
     
  9. binormalkilla New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    340 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Jonesbor, AR United States
    I know that Ketxxx was doing it for people with X1950 Pros, but I don't know if he does that anymore.
     
  10. TiesTorN New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't wanna mess with the bios but is there any utility that can change the GPU volt of my 1gb 2900xt on the fly?
     
  11. Exceededgoku

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    412 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    I don't care what I have to do to volt mod this card as I can't overclock for shit without it since I'm on watercooling the sky really is the limit.....
    I'm also starting to get pissed off at the lack of adjustments available for this card! :(
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page