1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2gb or 4gb

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by xxdozer322, Mar 24, 2013.

  1. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    Im helping my friend build a 3 monitor setup, 5760x1080 resolution...will 2 670 2gb cards be enough to run bf3 at max settings? or should i have him wait and save for the 4gb cards?
  2. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,825 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    You're probably going to want 4GB cards. I regularly use 1.3-1.8GB on my 7970 3GB in TF2 and Skyrim on a 1080p 120Hz monitor.
    xxdozer322 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    +1, its better to have 3-4 gb gpus for that res; also there is Titan and Amd cards...
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2013
  4. ueutyi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    65 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    i would suggest Radeon HD 7970
    but if ur a nvidia fans, 4G, 2G isn't enough for 3 monitors, if u get 2G i believe u will get everything screwed up. I know a person set 2 GTX 690s in SLI for 3 monitors and he screwed everything up
  5. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,337 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    748
    doing more than 1920x1080 u would need more than 2gb memory most of the time.
  6. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    Yeah, thanks guys, i figured that...Hes all about nvidia, so he decided to wait till next paycheck for a definite upgrade.
  7. silapakorn

    silapakorn

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    182 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    It is evident that 4GB cards do not benefit that much in multi-monitor setup.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    PatoRodrigues and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,913 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    It really depends on the games you play. But for BF3 at that resolution, id look at the 4GB cards, but if your doing two cards, you will have enough horse power with them that memory might not be and issue, but im not sure on that so don't quote me on it.

    EDIT: graphs above confirm that the 4GB render you no benefit really. 4GB cards will also give more memory latency then the 2GB cards, which is probably why the 2GB SLi bench is getting a tiny bit better performance then the 4GB. So nevermind my 4GB card recommendation. 2GB cards would be fine, but at this point if you were even considering the 4GB cards id just get GTX680s.
  9. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,715 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,310
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    but i suggest 4gb, its better you have more gb since you cant add any
  10. Cotton_Cup

    Cotton_Cup

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    378 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Rizal, Philippines
    get your friend to get 4gb, and never look back ^_^........ hell he might want to do a 7 monitor setup or something lol
  11. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,200 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    371
    I run a 5760x1200 setup, and I can attest that the extra memory is very game dependent. For BF3, it will make a difference, but as shown in the chart that silapakorn posted, it won't matter in other games. I would definitely go with the higher memory capacity if I was you because the PS4 will drive memory capacity requirements up for future games. However, you may be disappointed because I still don't think a GTX 670 SLI (or any current card) is able to play BF3 completely fluidly at 5760x1080 with ultra settings and max AA/AF.

    The framerate is below 60FPS and I'm not even sure the TPU numbers below used "ultra" instead of "high" settings.

    [​IMG]
  12. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    493 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    At that reso definetly more powerfull gpus are needed than extra vram.

    Titans are the way to go but just too damn expensive. If $$$ no object......

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page