1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2nd laptop hard drive bay?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by freaksavior, May 20, 2009.

  1. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,052 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    893
    [​IMG]


    is that a second hard drive bay or what?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. daragez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    155 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    it's the 2nd...!
  3. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    try and fit a 2.5" into it and see if it works:)
    it should be it though...
  4. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Depends on how many others there are. It could the third, fourth, fifth or whatever.
  5. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,052 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    893
    so your saying some laptops have the option to do 5 hard drives? :eek:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Sure, mine can hold 3 and it's just 12". I'm cheating with the docking station then though :)
  7. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Yep, that looks like laptop bay. But looks like you would need solder in a sata power and data adapter in.
  8. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,052 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    893
    so you say yes but needs the adaptors?

    you dont count then ;)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I am saying yest but I don't know a whole lot about laptops. But looks to me like there are the power and data headers right there. I don't know how good you are at soldering but that job doesn't look too hard if you find the correct pinouts. Also remember just because there is a spot on the board for another HDD doesn't mean the BIOS will support it.

    [​IMG]

    edit: oops just realized i did the picture backwards. It should be the other way around lol

    edit2: ok now its correct. didn't get enough sleep last night :laugh:
    Last edited: May 20, 2009
    freaksavior says thanks.
  10. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    wait is'nt it the other way round?:confused:
  11. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    yes, its early and i am tired. Fixing now.
  12. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    oh ok I wasn't a n00b then:laugh:
  13. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,052 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    893
    i thought it was too... lol

    i prolly wont add that ports but just wanted to know if that's "where" it would have gone.

    i got this machine for $250 lol

    P7450
    320gb
    4gb
    16" lcd

    Im not complaining
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Dang, that that sounds like an awesome deal. Defintely beats my acer laptop I bought for $400 at best buy like 6 months ago. I got a pretty good deal.

    That solder job looks very doable, even for me. But I probably wouldn't do it either. Maybe in a few years when the laptop is old and got a new one I would try it.
  15. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,052 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    893
    it is an acer :D

    gift for my girlfriend too.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    nice. I was a little worried about buying an acer as I had never used any of their products before but for the price I think I got an amazing deal.

    Bought the laptop last fall and its still kicking strong. I even dropped it from like 4 feet up one time, no damage and it still works fine. It was off and in a sleeve though. Only thing I don't like is the onboard graphics are trash. But I didnt buy it to play games.

    I am still really pleased with my purchase.

    For $400 I got:
    14" screen
    intel t3400 cpu
    intel 4500m graphics
    2gb of ddr2 ram (upgraded to 3gb)
    250gb seagate HDD
    vista home premium
    built in wireless N
    and all the other standard stuff
  17. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,052 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    893
    not bad.

    it didn't come with a battery so i gotta get that but still not bad. total cost is like $320

    THe gpu is the same as yours and it is trash but she does office, myspace, facebook, scrabble ect.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    The graphics really are trash. The best games I can play on it at decent speeds is HL2 and CSS at 800x600 w/ every setting at low. At thats only at like 40fps which drives me crazy. I play all my games on PC at 60fps (have to have vsync :p). But really I have no problems with it for the price I paid. I just use it for office, internet, etc. If I do game on it I just play emulators and it handles that fine.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page