1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2nd slot gpu question

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by xxdozer322, Nov 3, 2012.

  1. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    right now im currently running a gtx580 on my msi z77a-g45, the board has 2 pcie 3.0 x16 slots, i currently have the haf x, and my card sits right above the top portion of the side panel fan, now if i move the card to the 2nd slot the fan will hit directly on the card. Now the question is, since its on the second slot will i lose performance? the card right now hits about 79c underload in bf3, but if i could lower temps by switching to the lower slot, id sure as hell go for it.
  2. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    No, I believe that both slots are full PCIe 3.0 x16 :toast:
    xxdozer322 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    w000000000000000000000000t
  4. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    as shown on msi site
    PCI-Ex16 3
    PCI-E Gen Gen3 (16, 16) Gen2(4)
    1st and 2nd pci-e each has 16x

    so you will not loss any performance
  5. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Correct me if I am wrong, but Mobo Manufacturers recommend using the 1st PCIE slot for discrete graphics. Reason? Don't know.
  6. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Unless the board uses a PLX chip, the PCIE lanes both run in 8x when using both slots but no worries, the bandwidth is never used and 8x runs about 2% at the most in 8x over 16x. MSI is very vague in their specs which is misleading.
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
  8. dude12564 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    472 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    I think it is only electrically 8x.
  9. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs

    The Z77 chipset runs in 8x when both slots are used. All of them/ All Z77 chipsets do unless a PLX chip is used creating more lanes. MSI uses the same Z77 chipset as every other manufacturer.


    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2012
  10. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,812 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,501
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I beg to differ with MSi as well. There are 4 PCIe lane switches above the first slot, and 1155 CPUs only support x16 + x4 or x8/x8/x4. You will be running at 2.0 x8/x8 most likely, since you have a 2600K.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Look closer at the Z77 chipset block diagram. The block diagram is from Intel and it does not lie. MSI does not spec a PLX chip on the MPower unless I missed it.
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2012
  12. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,812 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,501
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    The CPU doesn't have a PCIe 3.0 compliant controller though (it was introduced with Ivy Bridge 3xxx processors, he's using a last-gen 2600K in his specs). The main slots (actually all of them in the 7 series boards) are wired to the CPU directly and the PCH has no role in the PCIe lanes (although the 6 series chipsets for Sandy Bridge provided the x4 slot from the PCH). I see the 4 tiny PCIe lane switches above the first PEG slot and that's it.

    EDIT: Re-read the OP, was just asking if each slot supported x16 individually, and it looks like it will as both x16 slots have all the pads. I thought he wanted to run SLi or something in which case the above applies. *goes to bed now*
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page