1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2x 2GB memory kits on the horizon

Discussion in 'News' started by D_o_S, Dec 14, 2006.

  1. D_o_S

    D_o_S Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    979 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Both Corsair and OCZ have new 4GB dual-channel kits, consisting of 2x 2GB sticks, in the works. Early products are expected to run at DDR2-667, but we will see DDR2-800 chips eventually.

    The memory will be intended for those that plan to multi-task a lot. The 64-bit version of Windows Vista will be capable of addressing all this memory. Sounds like an ideal match for Intel's Quad-core CPUs.

    Source: The Inq
  2. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    It'll be fun, all those idiots buying 4GB of RAM and using 32bit XP and saying "omfg it no worky! it only show 3.7GB!!!~~~NOTSOLOLOLOLOL!!!"

    They should really put a big sticker on it saying "XP32 does NOT work with 4GB of RAM." Preferably with a sexy nuclear picture.
  3. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    lmao, yeah :laugh:
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,544 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,216
    still, 3.7 or 3.5 gb is still more than the usual 2 gb configuration .. even though a single process can only use up to 2 gb of it
  5. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Yeah, that kind of sucks. Windows XP was supposed to support 4 GB, thats why most mainboards these days had it set as the maximum 4 GB. Leave it to Microshite to screw that up so they can make more money. Of course, If they get the 64 Bit drivers out, Ill install Win XP 64 on my comp.

    -The Eagle
  6. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,406 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    i thought it was 3.2gb, but windows rounds it to 3.5gb....

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page