1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2x AMD 6950 Or AMD 7950

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by happy, Feb 1, 2012.

  1. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Hi, so I came to a conclusion of choosing 2x ATI 6950 or a 7950. I heard that crossfiring is unstable in some reviews (microstuttering). The 7950 would be more stable as I heard. Which one should I get for the most bang for the buck. I want high fps and will be playing ona 24" screen.

    -Thanks.
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,812 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,893
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I'm running 6950 2GB Crossfire, don't have many issues to report right now. Most games have been out long enoug hthat they are supported in Crossfire, and those that aren't work just fine on a single card.

    6950 Crossfire is going to be faster than a single 7950, and cost about the same, if you go by my own loca pricing for both cards(239 for 6950 2GB = $480 for both, meanwhile $500 for 7950)
  3. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,750 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    In my opinion, you already have a HD 6950 2GB card, I would Crossfire it with another because prices have gone down. Skip the HD 7900's and wait for the HD 8900's in about a years time.

    I too want to Crossfire my current HD 6900, but I would need a new Power Supply due to all the extra stuff I have running in my PC. So for now I will wait for further price drops so I can also get a PS. :D

    cadaveca will his 650W PS be enough?
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,812 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,893
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Hard to say if 650w is enough...for stock system ,should be fine, but with OC, it may not be.
  5. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    I see you have one 6950 already so the answer is simple.
  6. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Yeah, I was debating between a 1050w corsair or 1000w coolermaster. I have a corsair 650w right now and its great. Never bought a coolermaster psu, but from the reviews I hear, it is quite good. Which one should I get.

    Here is my specs:
    -x4 IDE HDD Maxtor 250GB
    -x2 Coolermaster r4
    -x1 200mm fan
    -x1 140mm fan
    -x2 6950 or x1 7950
    -x1 7200 SATA HDD
    -x1 SSD
    -x1 HT Omega Claro Plus
    -x2 PCI Raid Controller for IDE HDD
  7. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    But I could return it. 1 day left until return.
  8. _ALB_R3D X

    _ALB_R3D X New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Tirana,Albania
    I've used a CoolerMaster Silent Pro 600W with 2 HD6950 for more than 6months:rockout:
    I switched to Silent Pro 850W only cause it was a good trade!Silent Pro series rocks,can't say the same about GX though!
    Ahh and crossfire that bitch and you won't regret it...
  9. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    So would do you think I even need 1000w for what I have setup. I looked on the PSU calculator in newegg but seems quite wrong.
  10. _ALB_R3D X

    _ALB_R3D X New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Tirana,Albania
    Definitely NOT!
    Go for the CM Silent Pro 850W if you want to keep it on the "safe".
    I don't know who even needs 1000W PSU's(except Workstations/Servers)
    Just for curiosity I've ran my first HD6950 Sapphire non-reference on a Delux 460W(29euro PSU)

    Edit:that little board u see on the pic is sapphire also,760G,pretty good one..but...VRM couldn't stand it when I was messing with my old 965BE...so pooped a little smoke and that was it...!

    Attached Files:

    happy says thanks.
  11. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I knew that newegg calculator was wrong. I would keep my 650w corsair but it does not have 2 more pic-e connector.
  12. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Hmm then thats a little different... I would say keep it tbh with you... then crossfire it. I dont have a 7950 or any card so for me the first choice is the 6950 but for u, u have it already so might as well get another and rape!
  13. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I'm just worried about the micro stuttering. I hear that two cards are going to have micro stuttering. But I guess it has to do with having a good motherboard right? I am going to get a AsRock Gen3
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,553 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,225
    Nothing to do with the motherboard - Everything to do with drivers and AMD's driver team and the people who QC their drivers.

    AMD Drivers have been bad these recent months
    happy says thanks.
  15. _ALB_R3D X

    _ALB_R3D X New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Tirana,Albania
    My CM600 had 1 also!!!!that's the main reason I picked up the deal on the 850W
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2012
  16. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Alright so I'm going to return my mobo, GPU, CPU. So basically. I want to game at least 70 fps for most games. I have a $800 budget to get: MOBO, CPU, GPU (Should I get 7950/7979 or crossfire x2 6950).

    Please help.
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,553 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,225
    grab yourself a 2500k - Clock it to 4.6-4.8Ghz. Grab an MSI board or ASUS Gen 3 P8Z68 or ASrock Gen 3 Board. get some Corsair DDR3 1600mHz ram

    theres no reason to return your 6950s but if you want do it and grab a 7970 if you can afford it and be happy (as your name suggests :toast:)
    happy says thanks.
  18. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    My question is will the x2 6950 beat the 7970 in fps and how much? Can't find any comparisons of both together. Will overclocking the 2500k make any difference?
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,553 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,225
    errrrrrrr Not 100% sure but probably no unless you OC them hard or flash/unlock them into 6970's

    Its the 6970s in crossfire that beat a single 7970
  20. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    So my question is I don't have to build this right now. Do you suggest that I wait for the Sandy Bridges come out? Would it be worth the wait and would the Sandy Bridges be cheaper?

    So lets say I get the 6950 and crossfire, It's not as simple as plugging the bridges? I have to flash? And will crossfiring 6950 only become a 6970? So I guess I should just get the 7970? Which would be the best option?
  21. _ALB_R3D X

    _ALB_R3D X New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Tirana,Albania
    2 X HD6950 beat every possible game that I know:nutkick:especially BF3.The setup suggested by Freedom Eclipse is the "perfect one"for the money these days...SO GO FOR IT:toast:
    happy and FreedomEclipse say thanks.
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,553 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,225
    If you want to wait though... Hang on to a 6950 until Nvidia gets its stuff out or the 7950's get a price drop so you can crossfire them. those are good cards too
  23. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Have you ever crossfired FreedomEclipse? If so do you get microstuttering? I have read some reviews that crossfire has microstuttering.
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,553 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,225
    Check my sig - but yes - Ive crossfired 4870s, 5850s and my 6970s.


    I did get micro stuttering but that was fixed. the only problem i have is ARMA II keeps crashing when in crossfire. thats the only problem i have so far
    happy says thanks.
  25. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    May I ask whats your fps when you crossfire 6970 when playing BF3, MW3, Crysis, and others in general? If I do get the 7970, Should I keep my 650 Corsair TX? Or should I get a 850 Corsair.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page