1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

3 sticks of PC3200 in DFI lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Dedodido, Jun 17, 2006.

  1. Dedodido New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    141 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've spent most of the afteroon fitting my new system together, and it only boots into the bios when there are two sticks of RAM in the slots, but has 3 of the 4 diagnostic LEDs on when I try to boot up with 3 in. Can I not have 3 sticks in or something? Or is the problem something else?
  2. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    Well, memory has progressed into DUAL setups, meaning ram should be installed in pair in the right colored slots as noted in the manual of your motherboard. The first slots you should use are the orange ones. It's either a 2 stick or a 4 stick install.
  3. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,111 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,125
    That is not entirely ture. It should still boot with three, but you will not get the dual channel performance.

    More than likely the mixing of RAM types and latentcys causes the one stick to fail. Or possibly the voltage the board is using.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  4. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    ^Yes...exactly.
  5. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,999 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    If you install one stick slower then the other sticks don't all the sticks of ram slow down to be equal with each other? Only as fast as the slowest piece of ram (didn't want to say stick)
  6. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Yeah...that's how it goes.
  7. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    Well, I'm sure DFI tought about those who buy Lanparty's to use them in single channel ;) It definately goes against the purpose of a performance board.
  8. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,111 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,125
    Right.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  9. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    Wasn't a punishing statement that I meant, really... :slap:
  10. BigD6997

    BigD6997 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    www.dfi-street.com helped me setting up my expert board they are quick to respond and have dfi techs there
  11. Dedodido New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    141 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hmm, thanks for the responses.

    I thought it might be a compatibility issue, but then I tried it around with different combinations, and all of them worked, which would suggest it isn't a compatibility issue.
    Also, it wouldn't boot when I had two sticks in a dual setup...it only works if I have sticks on slot 1 and slot 2.

    Anyway, I'll make a post on dfistreet and see what comes of it.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page