1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

30 Second Dummy Plug

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by CyberDruid, Mar 9, 2009.

  1. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    Originally posted here: http://www.overclock.net/overclock-.../384733-30-second-dummy-plug.html#post4538942

    Here is how to make up a dummy plug for your card in about 30 seconds.

    All you need are three 68 ohm resistors from RadioShack. They come in packs of 5 for a buck. Radioshack sells 75 and 100 ohm resistors and these work fine too.

    [​IMG]
    You will need the DVI-VGA adapter that ships with every GFX card, the resistors and a clipper. You could use scissors or a nail clipper, the wire is soft.

    [​IMG]
    Bend one leg of the resistor around till it is parallel to the other then clip off the long leg so it is the same length as the bent leg.

    [​IMG]
    The wire is just the right gauge to slide into the VGA plus securely.

    [​IMG]
    Push it home. Note you want to bridge the top three pins on the right with the pins directly below one-to-one.. Hold the plug so the wide part is up top.

    [​IMG]
    Alternate the resistors so the leg of one is against the body of another to avoid shorting out the jumpers.

    And that is all there is to it. Start Folding on your second GPU :D

    Note: Using the 182.08 driver many Nvidia Folders report no need for a Dummy Plug in Vista. Just enable and disable SLI then extend desktop tothird monitor and start Folding on Second core.

    No need for a Dummy Plug in XP either.

    A quick refresher on multi GPU folding. Download the Console Client and paste the extracted file folder it into a Folder on the Directory wherever you want. Make a Folder for each core/client and name it so you can find it (FAH1, FAH2 etc) and rename the .exe the same so you can recognize it easily later.

    Be sure to paste shortcuts to the FAH exe files on your desktop or w/e and edit the shortcuts with the flag -gpu X where X is a unique number for each core (i.e. -gpu 0 -gpu 1 etc.) otherwise FAH will not run on an additional core. When configuring the client on first run be sure to select a unique Machine ID for each core as well.

    And that's it.
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2009
  2. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Thanks for the nVidia 182.08 vista driver info. Didn't know about that.

    :toast:
  3. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Darn! another spammer^^
    anyway...I not sure wath a dummy plug is used for??
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,233 (11.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Fooling the OS that there is a second display head.
  5. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    ahhh right, but does it improve performance?
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,233 (11.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It lets you use the second display sub-system. Also in Vista environment where you have ATI card(s) to handle display, and a NVIDIA card dedicated to handle PhysX and other CUDA applications.
    CyberDruid says thanks.
  7. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    It's not about performance. If you have a rig with more than one GPU and you want to use them all to fold, you need the screen "active" for each GPU folding.

    The dummy plug eliminates the necessity of using more than one monitor per rig.
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2009
    CyberDruid and h3llb3nd4 say thanks.
  8. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    Didn't realize Solaris17 already had one up. Sorry.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page