1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

$300-350 system budget build ... need help

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by copenhagen69, Feb 21, 2010.

  1. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,918 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    A buddy wants me to build him a system ...
    his only request is that it plays CoD4-CoD5

    PSU: $65 - MIR $54
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371016

    Memory: $80
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820211188

    CPU: $86
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103694

    mobo: $79 - MIR $69
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131618

    =$310 after MIR =$290


    I may have to find some used parts ... like a CPU and ram at nice cheap prices in the FS section to help save on money ...

    with the CPU i was trying to get a dual core with a board that would give me a shot at unlocking all 4 cores.

    any thoughts on this ... i am struggling to get it under the range he gave me :wtf:
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2010
  2. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i think he needs to spend at least $600 if he wants a budget gaming build to play Call of duty.
  3. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,918 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    I told him the same haha ... but i like a challenge so i figured i would give it a shot

    I think if i go with used parts I can do it ... especially used video card CPU and ram .. maybe get lucky on a mobo ...
  4. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    906 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    well im not from the UK but ull just need to get the cheapest of everything...

    [​IMG]
  5. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
  6. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,918 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    cool im not from the UK either :p
    taking ideas from your post though :toast:

    1 8800 will run cod4? cause if i needed both for $150 i would just get a 5770 for that price ...
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2010
  7. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,438 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,499
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. ERazer

    ERazer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    check my FS ;)
  9. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    a 8800GT is a legend card D: it can play all games today right now at high or max settings.
  10. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,918 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    ya i use to have 2 in SLI back in the day and they were amazing haha... but have not kept up with them over the years :shadedshu
  11. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,918 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    very nice! i will have to check that out

    what part of DFW?
  12. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
  13. ERazer

    ERazer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Plano

    fyi i got 550 ultra psu fs too no pic tho
  14. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    man might aswell get all the parts from Erazer and the 8800GT from RX-7 haha :laugh:
  15. ERazer

    ERazer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    heck i even got antec 300 case if u need it fs

    i didnt put it up due shppin cost but ur in dfw we can work something out
  16. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,918 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    lol ... ya i am seriously looking at both those deals ... gotta get a hold of my buddy and let him know the price and all that ...

    still need a PSU though ...would the one up top work? anything else you would recommend?
  17. ERazer

    ERazer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  18. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,918 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
  19. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    [​IMG]
    that's the best bang/buck build i could manage right now that would play CoD. unless he doesn't need a dvd player, hdd, case or something. and that mobo has SB710 so it has ACC to "possibly" unlock more cores on the CPU.

    wishlist link
  20. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,918 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    nice nice a_ump :toast:

    all he needs though is CPU,RAM,PSU,Mobo, and a video card ... he has the rest.
  21. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    SOB!!!! haha, k i'll work on that then. boredom gotta love it

    n no offense, but where u thinking kurosagi01? lol u don't 600 when its just those 5 parts.
  22. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,918 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    haha boredom is nice in situations like this :toast:
  23. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,819 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    665
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
  24. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,918 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    but would 2GB of DDR3 be better than 4GB DDR2? .... running windows 7
  25. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,819 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    665
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    well i have seen computers run w7 with 256mb of ddr so probably

    here's with 4gb and the cheaper mobo
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page