1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

30GB Zunes Fail at Midnight on New Years Eve. Microsoft Releases a Fix

Discussion in 'News' started by alexp999, Jan 1, 2009.

  1. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    As the New Year began early this morning, Gizmodo started receiving lots of reports that people's 30GB Zune's were failing. What was happening, was that at 12:01am PST on 31st December 2008, a bug in one of the drivers unique to a 30GB Zune was not allowing the calendar to update properly. For players that were already on, this resulted in a hard reset at that exact moment. Upon restarting or for those who turned their Zune's on after midnight, they were presented with a locked up Zune which would simply stop at the end of the loading screen and stay there. Microsoft have now released an official statement for how to resolve this issue, which follows below.

    Source: Gizmodo
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2009
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    A bug? More like SPACE NINJAS.
  3. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    y2k LOL
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  4. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Update guys. They are working now.

    I had to reinstall the firmware though, might "just work" for you guys, but just in case here is how you do it.

    Either let the battery run flat, or disconnect the battery (google), then reconnect the battery/charge up. Then BEFORE the loading bar comes up on the startup screen press Back + Left + Centre. This will put the Zune into recovery mode, unfortunately this will wipe everything on the Zune.
  5. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Microsoft have said it will fix itself in the next 24hrs, so it wont require you to loose your data.
  6. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I repeat "I had to reinstall the firmware though, might "just work" for you guys, but just in case here is how you do it."

    That is what I had to do, because I'd already pulled the battery and tried to recover the firmware. I'm assuming anyone who didn't will have their Zune working fine, but at the same time in case it doesn't I posted that as help for anyone who might need it :)

    Oh, and btw, you have your dates wrong. It was the 31st December at 12:01am PST, not January 1st. Also Microsoft said it should fix itself by 12pm GMT, it's 11:50am here and they are now working.
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2009
    alexp999 says thanks.
  7. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Thanks, updated. And good you have found a way of doing it. Just wanted to point out to anyone reading, that if you have not done anything with your Zune yet, its best to leave it be.

    :toast:
  8. moto666 Guest

    thanks God that there arent any Microsoft systems on a Planes control system or in a Nuclear silo! :D Microsort would scribe a statment! Yes we hade som issues in planes and rockets they started to freeze or launch after midnight! But don't worrie! In 24ours it's all done! LOL :D
  9. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    I was wondering why my Zune froze today.
  10. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    IDIOTS!
    Someone needs to fire the idiot who developed such a poor firmware/driver.
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    No we need to kill the space ninjas!
  12. csendesmark

    csendesmark

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    345 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    This produckt isn't Y2K9 ready? :D
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,857 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,417
    I had my Zune fail on me once. However I had been drinking heavily.
  14. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I heard from a very reliable source that nuclear reactors all over the world are going into meltdown. Of course, the governments of the world aren't saying anything so that they won't spread panic and/or alarm.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,857 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,417
    You heard that too? The little pink elephant told me I was special!
  16. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    WHAT?! I thought I was the only one!! It's so over between me and that elephant. :roll:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Now, now guys, keep on topic, I dont want to call the mods in. :shadedshu
  18. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    oh noes!
    we were just having a little fun with it... :eek:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    np, but I know what mods are like ;)
  20. Guru Janitor

    Guru Janitor New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    New York
    wow my zune 30 didnt freeze...I got scared reading this..turned it on and its fine. 11:17am here, not yet noon. Oh well, I guess it didn't affect everyone.
  21. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    From what I saw Zune's running older firmware's were unaffected, and 12am was GMT time, not New York. Mine started working again around 11:20am GMT time.
  22. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    I seen the issue coming for about 2-3 weeks... lol. Tried tell'n them but MS just said they fixed it in 3.1. So no biggy.
    It has to do with the clock engines in the 30GB Zune. The 30GB Zune's clock engine isn't digitally regulated. The revisions after that are. It also had to do with the "leap second". lol.

    Fly
  23. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,665 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    From what I have hear, the problem wasn't entirely Microsoft's. It was actually cause by a driver provided to them from the 3rd party that produced the piece of hardware in the 30GB Zunes that caused the issue.

    While it was up to Microsoft to test the driver, and obviously this little bug slipped through testing, they didn't write or directly cause the bug.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Guru Janitor

    Guru Janitor New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    New York
    I'm on 3.1... I don't know, maybe it just started working before I even knew about the problem...I really don't care at this point anymore...I mean its working fine for me. I feel bad for those who it didn't work for. Gotta find out if this happened to my friends.
  25. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    So that explains it lol....

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page