1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

3570K OC - performance increment

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by uptech, Nov 7, 2012.

  1. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    I am all for overclocking, but when the guy doing it has no idea what to do it is immature to tell people to just go for it.
  2. uptech New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    53 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What about 1600 or 1866?
  3. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    744 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    Ivy Bridge has a very good memory controller, it is designed for best compatibility with 1600 RAM. It also works even better with modules rated up to 2800 MHz if your motherboard and wallet can handle it. But with the 1600 modules your throughput is around 20 GB/s, more than you really need, so you won't feel the difference in normal use if you opt for higher speed RAM. Your real goal should be to reduce latency, so another strategy is to buy the higher binned RAM and underclock it so you can tighten the timings (and reduce the latency). You may be able to feel the difference then. But any decent 1600 modules will work great.
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    Well as far as the 3570K its a toss up if they will work with 2800mhz so I wouldn't go that far...
  5. Vlada011

    Vlada011

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    283 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    I like to go with memory speed only in 9 or 10 latency limit. More than that for me is stupid.
    Better 2000MHz on some 8-9 latency than 2400MHz C12.
    1866 and 2133 MHz 2x8GB modules are perfect, I recommend two CORSAIR and GSkill newer models but more expensive RAM 1.5V and tighter latency.
  6. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne

    The stock frequency is 3.40ghz, you can oc without much fear and so long as you have good cooling, to pretty easily 4.20-4.60ghz, so the performance boost is, "at a guess", between about 10-25% more speed in most instances.[i'm guessing here].

    I can notice the difference when i do, which is quite often.;)
  7. uptech New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    53 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've read that latency isn't as important as frequency, actually.
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,603 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,275
    Latency does infact have major play, lower the better actually

  9. uptech New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    53 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How does CL10 @1866Mhz sound?
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    Slow as all get out :laugh:
  11. uptech New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    53 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So what would you recommend then?
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    Something that can do 2400 CL11. Can be anything if you do your research I have a set of Samsung low profile low voltage sticks that can and ran $40 (2x4GB) just gotta shop.
  13. uptech New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    53 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Cheapest 2400 is $300 here. And I'm going 16GB.
  14. drdeathx

    drdeathx New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    GSkill Tridents are very good and $200 for 16G 2400MHz cas 11
  15. anubis44

    anubis44

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    69 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I've been using/tinkering with computers since 1979 and building IBM compatibles since my 1991 AMD 386/40MHz. In that entire time, the number of CPUs I've seen damaged by overclocking, even with additional voltages, it zero. Literally zero. This is why, despite my insistence on buying motherboards, ram, graphics cards from local stores so I can immediately return/exchange defective products, I will buy my CPUs from online retailers. Because I've NEVER seen a defective CPU from the factory. I don't even read the warranty coverage on a CPU anymore because they are so thoroughly tested.

    As pertains to overclocking, every CPU will have a maximum recommended voltage. With Phenom IIs, for example, it's 1.5v, but even running it at 1.55v, so long as it doesn't go over 60 degrees celsius on a constant basis, is just fine.

    You really need to understand that in order to permanently damage a CPU, the decisive factor is heat, not voltage. If you have liquid nitrogen cooling, you can over-volt an AMD FX chip to 1.9v, and so long as the temps are kept from shooting past 100 degrees celsius for any extended amount of time, the CPU will be just fine. So unless you plan to run your CPU without a heatsink and continually reboot it after thermal shutdown (which would happen within seconds), you really need to relax about warranty coverage on a CPU. You are MUCH more likely to bend off a pin on a CPU (AMD) or bend pins in a socket (Intel) then you are to pooch a CPU due to too much voltage.
  16. anubis44

    anubis44

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    69 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    That partly depends on the platform. AMD FX chips like tighter timings more than Intel chips. Read a thread on memory speed/latency for the exact CPU family you are planning to buy for before you decide how much to spend/which type of memory to buy. It will save you money.
  17. uptech New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    53 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Not available here.

    Thanks for the insight. That was a great read! :)
  18. Vlada011

    Vlada011

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    283 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    I saw on Newegg before few weeks for 134$ GSkill TridentX 2400 2x8GB.
    I know some people order that RAM.
  19. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    744 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    Yeah, I read about those Samsung sticks, 1600 1.35v weren't they? And they OC'd to 2400 with 12-11-12-30 timings at 1.65v if I remember right. What kind of numbers are you getting?
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    Most people can get 2400 with 11-11-11-28 1.55-1.6v. When my Xeon X3440 was running them before I started having stability issues with 8GB of ram, I had 2000 CL11 1.5v without issues. I will update with the CHVF when it shows up I should be able to push a little more out of my poor little C3 Phenom.
  21. Eternalchaos

    Eternalchaos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    59 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    not bad here is what I get from mine
    [​IMG]

    I am running the ram a bit faster now 2200Mhz same timings
  22. mrsemi

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    655 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    I am simply amazed at the tolerance and help you've gotten. Great bunch of people here, you'd have been flamed to hell on a lot of other forums by now.

    That said, I never owned a k chip before the most recent purchase. Never been a heavy hardcore overclocker either but even if you're not going to overclock, take the option to make overclocking easier in the future if you think you might. The 3570k is a no brainer right now. I'm running budget 1600 ram btw.

    I plugged the sucker in, turned on the ASrock tuning utility and changed the number from a 34 to a 42 and now I'm running at 4.2 which is plenty enough for any gaming and the machine's running at 42 C at idle. Voltage on that auto tuner fluctuates from 0.94 to 0.985 and I don't know if that's good or bad but it's working fine and my room is a lot cooler than it was with the 920 in here at 3.8.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page