1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

3850 512mb in the USA haven't seen it before 209.00

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by trt740, Dec 1, 2007.

  1. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2007
  2. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
  3. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    and its a O.C. Edition ;)
  4. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    teh 3870 and 3850 use teh same core only diff is gddr3-gddr4 right?
  5. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    yes we know :)
  6. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    im just verifying d00d!
  7. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    yes we know that too :roll:
  8. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,421 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,146
    no, the 3850 uses an rv670, the 3870 uses an rv670xt(basically a cherrypicked rv670.)
    they also use different pcb's, but that's just on the reference design, though i haven't seen any non-reference designs, just non-reference coolers on a reference pcb.
  9. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    ok. ima go shopping monday for mine.
  10. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,741 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    US
    very nice cooler, but i don't think it worth the price.
    just wait a little and it will fall...
  11. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,743 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
    the core/mem is clocked lower on the 3850, and it has slower GDDR3 :)
    and it mostly comes with singel slot cooler 99% of the time
  12. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    until someone clocks a 3850 core up to the same speeds as a 3870 core i am gonna believe they are different.. perhaps they come with a lower voltage bios dunno..

    but a 512 version with decent cooler sounds good.. its the 256 that puts most folks off..

    trog
  13. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    exactly ... im moving on up like teh jefferesons ... need 512 ....

    also you may be right about teh voltages.
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Exactly, and they are different. 3870's use DDR4 and 3850's, respectively, DDR3.:toast:
  15. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    the real joy with these high performing cheapo cards is C/F X.. only having 256 kinda knocks the idea right from the start.. i think i am right in assuming four of the little buggers would still only use the memory one has..

    256 is just about okay for one but not a bunch of em..

    trog

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page