1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

3850 AGP OC'ing, Vmods, experiences, suggestions, where to buy

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by intel igent, Jan 18, 2008.

  1. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Eh?
  2. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,691 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    949
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    I'm using Rivatuner 2.08's low level overclocking function

    And yes, my proc is running at 2.6ghz right now, I fixed that typo, for some stupid reason this mobo isn't very good at OCing quad procs, Windows won't boot beyond 2.66ghz, though some ppl have been able to OC their quads beyond that changing the FSB once they've booted, haven't tried that yet; as I barely got my new cooler two days ago :p
    intel igent says thanks.
  3. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i am using pci-e 6pin power connector :p
    intel igent says thanks.
  4. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    so it CAN work without that stupid dual molex > 8 pin adapter?

    thats a plus! will mean i can still keep it tidy in there ;)

    :toast:
  5. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    or it was 8 not sure :p
  6. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    well are you running it straight off your PSU or are you using the adapter that came in the box?

    :toast:
  7. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    straight from my psu :)
  8. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  9. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    yep very stable even more stable then before... just wierd i played today crysis on maxium with dx10 i had no artifacting nor bsod :D
    intel igent says thanks.
  10. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    any of the other 3850AGP owners doing the same thing?

    :toast:
  11. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Cheezy system?

    To an unwitting person they will see the dual molex connection on a GPU and think it's powerful as it needs two and the molex connections are bigger connections than the 6pin.
  12. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    the card comes with native 8pin connection and they supply a dual molex>8pin connector to power the card.

    it looks cheezy IMO

    :toast:
  13. repsol23

    repsol23

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    152 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Doing what? If you mean using the molex plug with the kit, no, I have been using the PCI-E plug off my PSU. That may be why I can overclock my core to 850 with not a single artifact in ATI tools.

    I also noticed that newegg no longer has my card. It actually turns out that when I ordered mine I think it may have been their last since when I refreshed the page it said out of stock. I have been checking the page to look at reviews and the last few days it has said they would get some as of 3/18 but today it said it was deactivated. Guess I got mine just in time!!

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131090&Tpk=ag3850
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2008
  14. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Good they suppiled it but sounds like using the dual molex to 8pin connector is going to cut out a couple of power cables from the PSU.

    All I can say is I hope you don't have too many other components needing to run off those cables.
  15. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,691 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    949
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    I'm using the molex to 8 pin PCIe connector that came with my card, my PSU have only two 6 pin PCIe connectors, but no 8 pin...

    Don't think using a 6 pin connector would be recommended, it has an 8 pin connector for a reason, don't you think? Then again, I could be completely wrong after seeing repsol's post...:ohwell:
  16. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  17. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Anyone experiencing any major issues, as in stability, driver conflicts and the a-like. I plan on purchasing the Powercolour in a few weeks, IF I don't win the PCIe motherboard I'm bidding on, on eBay. Otherwise, I'll be buying an PCIe 3850.

    ^^
  18. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i think the 8 pined pci-e connector got more grounded?
  19. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Errr, what?
  20. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i mean whats the differends in 8 and 6 pin pci-e connector ?
  21. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    I would have thought that'd have been obvious - one has 6 pins, one has 8...
  22. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    no in power lol
    i know it got more cabels
  23. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    guys im thnking of getting the thread title changed to:

    "3850 AGP where to buy/experiences/overclocking/sugestions"

    seeing as we're approaching 200 posts this could be usefull to others :confused:

    thoughts?

    :toast:
  24. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i agree
  25. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Dooooooooo It!

    ^^

    Will you all hate me if I went for a PCIe one? ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page