1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

3850 nice price any good tho?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by hooj, Jul 4, 2008.

  1. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
  2. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Compared to what you are running it should be a good upgrade.
     
    hooj says thanks.
  3. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Just curious, could i run an HD3850 on an earthwatts 380W PSU because it's combined 12v is 27 amps?
     
  4. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    hooj says thanks.
  5. Fleekar

    Fleekar

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    105 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    hooj says thanks.
  6. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    hooj says thanks.
  7. Fleekar

    Fleekar

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    105 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Whoops, sorry about that
     
    hooj says thanks.
  8. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    will leave that 6200 in the dust..
     
    hooj says thanks.
  9. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    LOL, what an understatement..:laugh: I was gonna say something like "its only 256mb of memory, look for a better one" but compared to the 6200 its "GodLike"

    The 380 PS will be fine.
     
    hooj says thanks.
  10. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    LOL !! :laugh:

    Yeh i really need to upgrade fast !!
     
  11. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I have that his model,i vmodded mine and it benched at 810mhz core and 1000mhz ram.Its been a relible card,though i am getting a 4850 this month to replace it.

    It will be a revelation after the 6200 :D
     
    hooj says thanks.
  12. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    this is gonna be a huge upgrade from your 6200, what games do you play
     
    hooj says thanks.
  13. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    I play:

    Far Cry
    Quake 4
    Oblivion


    Would like to play:

    Crysis
    COD 4
    Bioshock
    Age of Conan
    Far Cry 2 :)
     
  14. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    hooj says thanks.
  15. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    not sure about far cry 2 but if you can play oblivion on a 6200 then you will be happy playing crysis on a 3850

    I've run oblivion on a HD3850 maxed out at 1600x1200 with 2aa, but it was overclocked a good bit
     
    hooj says thanks.
  16. proletariandan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    475 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yes, I am doing so now also with a 4200+. My whole system never uses more than 200W at stock speed/voltage.
     
  17. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    It's a good card, but if you can find a 3850 with 512MB GDDR3 buy it instead.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page