1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

3930k OC hints and tips

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by FreedomEclipse, Mar 24, 2013.

  1. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    You just have given me the reason to go nuts on voltage :p

    I still think 1.55v won't kill the CPU before I upgrade to Ivy-E
     
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,925 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,359
    Well, Im clocking at 4.7Ghz, right now Im just trying to scale the voltage up. I BSOD at +0.060 in prime95 but temps were pretty damn good so I still have quite a lot of room to up my voltages a little more. I'll probably even do 1.41v at this rate and still have decent temps providing I can get the OC stable.
     
  3. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    isn't +0.060 already on 1.40v range?
     
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,925 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,359
    Not on my board lol. I think im +0.065 at the moment.

    I was messing with VCCSA Voltage. I set it to 1.1 first but Ive seen the X.M.P Profile for my Hyper X's set it at 1.300.

    I got BSODs on 1.1 and 1.2 so i just went with 1.300 for sake of argument and its coming to 30mins stable with 1.408v Vcore.

    Temps are hitting 66'c max. I dont think im gonna try for anything higher then 4.8GHz even though I can still keep the CPU cool.
     
  5. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,925 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,359
    Even If my hyper X's sets the VCCSA to 1.3??
     
  7. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    I honestly don't know, for what I know it could even be safe but the times I've seen people talk about SB-E degradation was tied to those voltages, not even Vcore.
     
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,925 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,359
    well thanks for the tip, Im back testing at 1.2v on VCCSA, If it fails I will most likely have to mess with the LLC/power management settings


    - Or i could just clock down to 4.6Ghz :p 35mins prime stable at the moment, I will most likely leave it overnight hopefully its stable and i can leave it be and start beasting in BF3 or ARMA 3 which i am just dying to play as I havent been gaming for at least a week!

    Ive also got a lot of Youtube HD re-encodes to do for my channel so this CPU will make waiting a minute for videos to encode in 720p even less of a minute.

    cant wait to see how this runs my games. Its probably no different then my 2500k@4.9 but it will be nice to see how it handles it
     
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,925 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,359
    well, small update on progress so far. After running prime for close to 3hours stable I got hit by the 101 BSOD.

    Since im already using 1.41v I guess the only thing for me to do is step down to 4.6Ghz instead of 4.7 which i was trying to get.

    Its coming to 1.30am here so i guess I will leave testing till the morning
     
  10. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    These chips are very voltage hungry :(
     
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
  11. ueutyi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    65 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    DO NOT make the voltage higher than 1.40V for daily use, REMEMBER!!!
     
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,666 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,324
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Yes they are. You don't buy a SB-E chip expecting good power consumption under load. Idle isn't too bad.

    Yeah, if you're running an SB or IVB chip. SB-E handles higher voltage a bit better than other CPUs. I can run 1.45v and keep my temps around ~70*C give or take a few degrees. Right now I'm at 1.385 with high LLC which puts me at 1.385v full clocks with no load and 1.4v at full load at 4.4Ghz. I need to pump 1.5v+ through my CPU to get 80*C.

    I've found that my rig in its entirety needs a lot more voltage to start overcoming 4.6Ghz and 5ghz simply isn't easily achievable and I think it's the board, not the CPU, that is limiting the overclock on my setup.

    Granted I don't have the 3930k, I'm using a 3820 but the Deluxe and the Pro are almost the same board, the Deluxe just has a beefier VRM and a couple extra features.

    Personally my most recently overclock is 129.5Mhz x 34 = 4403Mhz @ 1.385v, LLC @ high. These settings give me about ~63*C in a warm room while encoding video using the Zalman cooler in my specs.

    I have found though at 4.2Ghz and 4.0, I can under-volt my 3820 by a lot (< 1.3v). It's not until you start going beyond that where it really wants more.

    The VCCSA doesn't have a ton to do with your memory overclock. I only needed 1.15v VTT on mine to get 2133Mhz stable, 2400 likes 1.2v.

    Don't go gung-ho with the VCCSA. Just keep it within 0.2v of your core voltage.
    So if the core is 1.4v, put your VCCSA at 1.2v. If you're at 1.35v, then 1.15v. That rule has worked fairly well for me.


    ...also welcome to X79 and SB-E. Where we don't need a turbo to overclock (which is one of the reasons why I got the 3820). :p
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
  13. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,925 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,359
    well I just got out of bed, Heres the second round of prime at 4.6Ghz, hopefully its stable now. If it managed to do 3hrs of prime at 4.7 last night, i dont see why i cant pass at 4.6

    Cross your fingers and cross your toes for me!
     
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,925 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,359
    Started stressing with prime at the same time as above post.

    I am happy to say that its still going strong and hasnt crashed or BSOD'd yet. Just coming to 7hr30mins stable.

    I'll give it another 2hrs just to clear the 10hr mark and call it a day before I start redoing my 3Dmark benches for the megathreads.

    Again, thanks to dave, radrock for their awesome help with this. you guys really cut the time down needed to figure out a new platform :p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page