1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

3d mark score

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Azazel, Mar 9, 2008.

  1. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea thats really low I score higher with my rig...
  3. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    why is it so low..what could be wrong
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Could be a bad OC. Bad OCs can be stable, but give crap scores. Is your X2 @ stock? How are your temps?
  5. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    gpu= 70c

    cpu= core1-4 34c-36c
  6. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    when it was doing the cpu test it was really slow..2-5 fps
  7. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    any one :)
  8. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Are you running the cat 8.3's? If so, they may be the cause, they only do it on some systems, they crucify your 3dmark 06 score, I have found an overall stability increase. Hopefully ati are aware of this problem and release a hotfix soon. They drop the score roughly 30% below what it should be. If 3dmark is important then use the 8.2's but if they dont bother you too much stick with em and ignore the score till ati fixes it.

    Hope it helps. ;)
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2008
    Azazel says thanks.
  9. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    yeah..iv got the latest drives..hmm ya..i hope they fix this...

    but one q...why is it so low in the cpu test [​IMG]

    or is this normal
  10. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Its normal although the cat 8.3's could be making it worse.
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2008
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    The cpu test is supost to be 2fps. I say its drivers tho try Caty 8.2
    Azazel says thanks.
  12. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    ah ic thx for clearing this up hehe :) i was a little worried :)
  13. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    ya..i might try it out to see what score i will get :)
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    If its under 12000 something is wrong lol
  15. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    lol yeah well i added about 30% to that score..its 12126...so that should be right..i think...il download 8.2 tomorrow and see :)
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    That sounds right I guess.. you have a rig thats twice as powerfull as mine tho I was thinking like a 16000-18000 score =/
  17. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Just notcied you have an X2, I think the performance drop is even worse on crossfire and x2 setups.
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2008
  18. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    thx man that will help
  19. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,946 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Yeah your score seems really for your setup. I score higher on my setup with stock speeds and catalyst 8.3.
  20. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    sometimes 2006 will produce an odd low score.. it should be run just after a reboot to make sure.. a quad at 3 gig should produce 15 or 16 k..

    trog
  21. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I give up, have tried cat 8.2's, tried reinstall 3dmark, with/without hotfixes. Im stumped!!! Are you using realtek sound drivers? Cant think what else it could be...? A windows update? Gonna try cat 8.1 hotfix, then i dunno...? :confused::confused::confused:
  22. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    i did it again still the same..im gonna try cat 8.2 and see. everything in windows is undated, , il post in what i get with cat 8.2
  23. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    hmm im having trouble installin cat 8.2...hmmm
  24. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    well ive tried cat 8.2, 8.1, with/without CCC, really stumped now. oh well, obviosuly somethings up, maybe I should try the new 3dmark, anyone know what sort of score I should get for my system??

    And I take it you are uninstalling other drivers first right?
  25. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    em no hehe...how do i uninstall the other drives hehe

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page