1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

3DMARK 11 Discussion.

Discussion in 'General Software' started by AthlonX2, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,225 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,700
    Discuss Here
     
    t_ski says thanks.
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,136 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,324
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    heres my score. GPU and CPU overclocked. PhysX on CPU

    [​IMG]

    DETAILS:

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
  4. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    so what exactly do higher scores tell? Bragging rights only? My 4870 and e8400 still have no problem running any game out there on max. How are the results quantified in real world experience?
     
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,678 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,190
    It means their e-pen1s is 3-6X longer than yours;):roll: Other than that. its bragging rights.
    realistically it means that they can tessellate and run CPU physics better than your rig.
     
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,136 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,324
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    woops!!!!
     
  7. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    I like the idea of this thread. I get lousy scores in my opinion and I think its due to my cpu, but then I see guys with 80x's at 5ghz and a gtx580 get only 3k more then my setup so it doesnt make sense that it would be my cpu. i think scaling for the cards I have sucks.
     
  8. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    How does GTA IV run for you or bad company 2? Metro 2033?
     
  9. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Not my genre, so I dont know ;D
     
  10. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    fixed
     
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,678 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,190
    yup good catch, there is no PhysX in this bench. I believe Bullet is the physics that runs in this bench.
     
  12. erasure

    erasure

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    156 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Kingdom of Lost Heaven
    when nvidia out sli driver in 3dmark11
     
  13. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Yeah.. that take long. Other use modified quadro driver for sli fix
     
  14. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Is anyone aware of why they run most of the phsics on the cpu for this ? ( as far as I'm aware NO cpu gets decent frames during these tests) even though the soft body phsics runs on the gpu? ( the flags)
     
  15. erasure

    erasure

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    156 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Kingdom of Lost Heaven
    nvidia 266 beta driver still no sli in 3dm11?
     
  16. Dave65

    Dave65

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    131 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Michigan
    Nope..
     
  17. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    It think thats suppose to cover the traditional 3dmark cpu test. Seeing that they want to stick with their 'gamer's benchmark' moniker, they might have opted not to do a dedicated test for gpu computation, instead did a 'gpu dependent', 'cpu dependent', and 'mix' tests, as what most games nowadays are exhibiting.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2011
  18. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    hopefully when 11-1 ccc comes im hoping it runs better in crossfire then 10-12 preview does, 10-12 preview blows chunks
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page