1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

3dmark06 score

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by bezzy3004, Aug 28, 2008.

  1. bezzy3004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My 3dmark o6 score is 10838 @ default settings
    sm2-4772
    sm3-6011
    cpu-2061

    System Athlon x64 5000+ oc 2893.66mhz 222mhz fsbx13 (stock cooler)
    Asus h3a-h/hdmi m/board
    3.3gig Ocz reaper 1066 ram running at 413mhz
    hd4870 512mb oc to 790/1100
    2x maxtor sata harddrives 160gb +500gb
    850w psu
    window vista ultimate 32bit sp1

    I have 2 questions, is this a good score for my rig would you expect such a score? and i can only get to 2.9ghz with stock h/sink and fan it crashes when i dial in 2.9+ghz would i get higher with a better cooler? any advice much appreciated thanks.
     
  2. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,108 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,285
    Location:
    Kansas
    Sounds about right to me. What vidcard you running?

    Is that a 5000+ Black? 2.89 is a bit low--Those chips are supposed to do over 3.0 in their sleep.
     
  3. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    What are your temps like for the cpu?
     
  4. bezzy3004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No its a standard 5000+ if i go above 2.9 i crash. my vid card is a hd 4870 as listed in the specs, i think cpu temps 45 idle and 50+ working.
     
  5. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    how does this sound right. my 3870 got 11850 on 3d06.
     
  6. bezzy3004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes but your also using a phenom cpu!
     
  7. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    true true... it just doesn't seem right for a 4870
     
  8. bezzy3004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ive had a good look around and i think the 4870 is not very well optimized with 3d 06 maybe vantage will be better. some people have a worse score with very similar setup to mine so i think ive done quite well.
     
  9. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    yeah i suppose....i keep forgetting that 3dmark06 score is highly based on cpu performance.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page