1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4 DIMMs and overclocking

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by [I.R.A]_FBi, Aug 1, 2008.

  1. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    How much does 4 dimms affect overclocking?
     
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,988
    Location:
    some AF base
    none i'm running 4x1GB @1022 24/7 they can do higher but my phenom wont run higher ;)

    but this is AMD and your intel so you could be way different
     
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,319 (6.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,834
    I would take a look over at ABIT forums, and see if there are any issues people have been running into with you specific motherboard.
     
  4. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,336 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,069
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I noticed quite a difference on my P35, went from 500+ FSB with 2 DIMMS to about 470FSB with 4 dimms on dual core, to 450FSB with 4 DIMMS max with a quad core...

    I noticed the largest difference with a quad core in the picture too, but I could no longer hit 500+ FSB stable no matter what with 4 Dimms and a dual core...but YMMV, some people with the same setup as me could still hit 500+ FSB with a dual core and 4 dimms, but do expect to need more voltage to the DIMMS, looser timings, and higher NB/MCH voltage. I can only speak from my experience tho.

    Hope that helps! :toast:
     
  5. Duxx Guest

    They might be a little more picky, took a few more tweaks to get my tracers stable at 1066 but nothing earth breaking. Have had them to 1150 to benchmark, haven't pushed higher.
     
  6. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    I find the abit forums to be a little slow to help.
     
  7. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    Strange you should metion that as part of the reason i want more ram is due to plans to get a 4aud
     
  8. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    1200Mhz on 2.3v here. Don't see the issue personally.
     
  9. nINJAkECIL

    nINJAkECIL New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    235 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    more DIMMs usually require more vDIMM. especially if you go 4x2Gb sticks
    oh, and more vMCH too....

    compared to same speed, but wih only a pair of DIMMs
     
  10. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,336 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,069
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    My solution, give my G/F's rig my DDR2 800 kits and get a 2x2GB DDR2 1000 2.0v G.skill kit that was like $80 on sale, runs perfect with my quad, granted I only run 400FSB now, it's solid and stable as could be. I don't like running more than 2.15-2.2v through my RAM as a preference, so I took the route of a sure thing that runs at a lower voltage....I couldn't be happier...more ram at a slower speed is better than less ram at a higher speed now-a-days with modern games and memory heavy applications and multitasking anyways...I only noticed an improvement overall...and the stability between 4x1GB and 2x2GB at similar speeds (DDR1000) was night and day for me. Again YMMV...some will do better, just don't expect to hit those results, unless you like to give your ram higervoltage or have higher voltage accepting memory with active cooling. Really much beyond 800 speeds isn't really necessary, I went 1000 for a little boost, but even that isn't amazing, I could run 4x1GB at 4-4-4-12 and I got the same synthetic scores as 2x2GB at 1000 with 5-5-5-15, if not a little worse...but the 2x2GB runs so cool I no longer need active cooling, takes less voltage to get there.

    There are a few things you have to decide on, and as I experienced going from an e6300 to a q6600, that quad especially OC'd will need more power...which straned my NB a bit more, and lowered my stable memory OC's as I said earlier...but that could just be my DFI P35, I dunno really as I haven't tried on anything else, and now find no need to. But with what your plans are for the future, setting your goals should be a little lower than with a dual core for starters just to ensure fewer issues are noticed off the bat imo. You may go further than expected, which is a plus for sure!

    :toast:
     
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page