1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4 fans at Cpu_Sys at the motherboard

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Jonx0420, May 25, 2014.

  1. Jonx0420

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello TPU

    for not long time ago i got my EK-CoolStream RAD XTX 240 and its a very thick radiator, so i need fans on both sides blowing away from the case
    [​IMG]
    This is what mine is gonna look like, but with these fans:
    Air Series SP120 PWM High Performance Edition High Static Pressure Fan
    http://www.corsair.com/se-fi/air-series-sp120-pwm-high-performance-edition-high-static-pressure-fan
    the fans is PWM and my motherboard have the Cpu_sys which supports PWM too(Msi Z77A-G43 millitary class 3) and then i want to connect all 4 fans to that one header. atm i only know how to connet 2 fans to the same header, i cant find a 1-4 PWM splitter.

    Thanks :)
     
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,687 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    Location:
    US
    Can you not use 38mm fans ? would that not work better. never got in to water cooling but always wondered why most used 25mm fans.
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,409 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,057
    Probably not a good idea to overload a fan header on your motherboard. Either plug them directly into the PSU or get a fan controller.
     
    Jonx0420 says thanks.
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,227 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,511
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    try to stay under 1.0a on fan headers. That's why you cannot find such adapter. :p
     
    Jonx0420 says thanks.
  5. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,976 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    Vietnam
    +1. You have to look at the max current per fan header. I think it's around 1A, then compare that with the current draw from the fans. You can use P=IV if the fans are only rated in watts.

    Edit - Power draw says 0.18A ea. so thats 0.72A total, but you'd figure a 10% loss through cables (splitter) so you're looking at 0.8A.

    I'd go with a fan hub, but if it's not an option you should be okay, get a multi-meter if you want to check properly.

    Something like this would be great: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Gelid-Solut...?pt=US_CPU_Fans_Heatsinks&hash=item3f3508979d
     
    Aquinus and Jonx0420 say thanks.
  6. Jonx0420

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Right now i got a Fan Controller: http://www.nzxt.com/product/detail/78-sentry-lx-fan-control but it dosent know if its cooling the case or the cpu, so when i overclock my cpu, then it dosent know that it gets warmer? like my motherboard does :p Same will happend if i plug em into the psu 4 x 2350 rpm sound, then it will sound like a train xD
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,409 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,057
    Manually set your fans with the controller at the highest you can put them within your noise tolerances. Temps can be checked with 3rd party programs such as AIDA 64.
     
  8. Jonx0420

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i dont understand what your saying(im a bad speaking danish kid :p ) is it how much the blades turn? if u know what i mean? :)
     
  9. Jonx0420

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    okay, so i need to be there manually checking, it can not be automatic? no matter what? :)
     
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,409 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,057
    You have 5 separate temperature sensors in that fan controller. From the manual:

    "It is recommended that the user tape the temperature probes near
    the corresponding fans (i.e. Fan 1 is near Temp 1 probe), this
    optimizes the Auto mode where the fan is automatically controlled."

    Once you have the sensors taped up, you can set the fans to an auto setting or a setting based on what temperatures you want.
     
    Jonx0420 says thanks.
  11. Jonx0420

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So i have to tape it between the cpu cooler and the i5? smash it into the coolerpaste? :)
     
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,876 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,828
    Jonx0420 and cadaveca say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. Jonx0420

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,409 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,057
    No, try to tape it to the side of the heat spreader or I think you can run a wire from the CPU fan header on the motherboard to the fan controller. On the CPU fan header the 2nd pin from the left is the temp sensor.
     
  15. Jonx0420

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ive been looking for the Swiftech 8-Way PWM Cable Splitter, but im not so happy to order from Frozencpu because it costs 65 dollars for shipping, is there another site where i can buy it?, i cant find anyone :( Ebay is alredy tryed.
     
  16. Shambles1980

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    541 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    wouldn't it just be easier to get a potentiometer and wire the fans up directly to that taking the power from a molex or something.
    over clock or whatever you plan to do.
    run occt or prime, and adjust the fans with potentiometer so they are running at the slowest they can whilst still being able to keep the system cool enough.
    this would also let you adjust the speeds as you wanted. but it would be something you had to do manually.
    also i would not recommend connecting more than 2 fans to a single header.

    i used to wire 2 fans in series off the psu directly so molex +12 goes to fan 1 +, fan 1 - goes to fan 2 +, fand 2 - Goes to molex Ground. this would have 2 fans running at 6v each off of 1 12v connection. and helped keep the system quiet when i did not have any more fan headers and needed to connect more fans but did not need them running at 100% (less noise)

    Don't know if that helps you either. but thought id come and say something as i saw the thread.
     
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,876 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,828
    Where are you located? It is only $3.99 to get one shipped to me, then I can ship it to you. FrozenCPU I think gouges on International shipping.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. Jonx0420

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i see what u mean, but i dont really know how to wire correctly to a ?potentiometer?(googled it, but i dont really know what it is :p ) and the Swiftech 8-Way PWM Cable Splitter will get powered directly by my psu, and not from the header :)
     
  19. Jonx0420

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I live in denmark :) That would be amazing! really :)
     
  20. Shambles1980

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    541 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    a potentiometer is just a variable resister.. like a volume control on an old radio..
    power goes in to it at 1 end and your fan connects at the other end. You twist the potentiometer and it gives you more power 1 way and less the other way.
     
  21. Jonx0420

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    aah like that, its like a fan controller :D, i alredy have a Fan controller, but ill wanted an automatic power/temp. :)
     
  22. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,876 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,828
    It looks like First Class shipping from me to you would be about $8. So the total would be $24 shipped to you, $15 to get one shipped to me and $8 to then ship it to you and $1 to cover the Paypal fees.

    I've actually have a brand new one I bought for a build I'm planning that I can put in the mail to you right away, and I can re-order another one from FrozenCPU to replace the one I ship to you. That why you don't have to wait the extra week for it to get to me before I ship it to you.

    PM me if you want to do this and we can work out the details.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,773 (7.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24,270
    Jonx0420 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page