1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4 GB HD 7850! by HIS

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by T4C Fantasy, Jan 27, 2013.

  1. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  2. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,412 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,464
    can a 7850 even make use of 4GB vRam?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    I wouldn't see why not, with 4 monitors at fair resolution lol

    its a descent gpu as it is clocked at 1 ghz
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  4. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,795 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,330
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I wonder what the street price is going to be?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,745 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Probably the same as two or three eight balls.
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  6. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    as far as memory goes though, it is GDDR5, which is great because most oems do shit like strap 4gb to DDR3 on a GeForce GT 630 lol
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  7. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,412 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,464
    interesting :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    I modified my avatar in higher res and I got my actual hd 7970 and shrunk it and put it in the pic lol
  9. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,600 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,285
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    [​IMG]
    uefi ready? since when vga card uefi ready? :eek:
    looking good, and i guess 4 gig would enough for now

    Attached Files:

  10. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    469 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    341
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Frick and The Von Matrices say thanks.
  11. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,166 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    I've wondered about this for a while. One MSI motherboard I have has this as an option but enabling it causes the system to fail to POST because the graphics card does not support the specification. Can this feature be enabled with a BIOS update of the graphics card or is it something in hardware that cannot be easily changed?
  12. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    469 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    341
    Location:
    Indonesia
    I remember reading EVGA's forum and their representative said that it is possible to enable this feature (UEFI GOP) by updating your VGA BIOS (UEFI enabled VBIOS).
    But unfortunately for legacy cards owner (NVIDIA before Kepler) it is not possible because the BIOS ROM size is not large enough to support UEFI.

    Don't know about AMD though. Obviously 7000 series will be supported, but I don't know about older generations.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page