1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4 gigs with windows 7?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by fish00, Sep 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fish00 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    4GB is more than enough, unless you do some serious memory intensive stuff(video editing/hi-res photo editing), you will likely not notice the difference between 4GB and 8GB.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. kuroikenshi

    kuroikenshi

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Japan
    4GIGs is more then enough. Be aware though that if you want to use all 4gigs that you will need a 64bit version of it. Otherwise you will only use 3.25 give or take.

    I have 4gigs of DDR2 800 ram and windows 7 runs fine!
     
  4. fish00 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    yeah i plan on using ultimate 64bit cause my new cpu will support 64bit
     
  5. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Yeah, 4GB is plenty! Hell, even 3GB will work flawlessly :)
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    I run it on 2GB...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Here's the deal with 4GB+ of memory and the OS of your choice:
    -32bit Win7 will show 4GB but will only use +/- 3.25 (something someone else already mentioned)
    -32bit Win7 can only use up to 4GB of virtual address space which is broken up into 2GB for the user space and 2GB for the kernel (I think, this part is a lot more involved then this).
    -64bit Win7 increases the virtual address space beyond 4GB. Allowing it to use more then 4GB of ram for the games and applications you use (only if the game/applications is 64-bit).
    -64bit OS will only run games made for 32bit in a 32bit environment making your 64bit OS moot (if all or the majority of the games/applications are 32bit) .


    So you have 2 choices:
    A. Use a 32bit Win7 and increase the user's virtual address space so some/most game/applications can run more smoothly
    B. Use a 64bit Win7 and know that it finally recognize all your ram however, run in a 32bit environment for those games/apps that use it. Again, unless you have plenty of 64bit apps/games.

    It can get a bit more detailed then this but I think I made the point.
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2009
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    Not really, unless you point was use 64-bit either way because there is no advantage to 32-bit when it comes to memory and address space...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Not at all if most/all of his applications and games are 32bit. With no sign of mass adaption of 64bit games/application I would suggest to them to just get the win7 32bit. He would only see a need in 64bit win7 when all the applications/games he uses are also 64bit.
     
  10. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,475 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Who the hell is telling you you need 8GB of RAM for Win7? :laugh:
     
  11. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Man, you be surprised what people will say just to get you to use a 64bit os :laugh:
     
  12. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,475 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    8GB is a little over kill. I can see saying 4GB but fuck 8? :laugh:
     
  13. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,603 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    368
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    yea haha seriuosly. like 2gb ram for vista runs fine on my friends computer and windows 7(from what i've read and heard) is less resource demanding or at least runs smoother and manages resources better than vista. 4gb is plenty.
     
  14. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,915 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    but it scores higher on some benchmarks:laugh: yeah i went back to 4gb for real performance, seems my AMD machine actually runs a little faster with just 4 gb, at least to me
     
  15. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,603 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    368
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    i'm not positive and this is just a guess, but could that be because its only having to access a single set of dual channel(2 dimms) instead 2 dual channel? just an idear :p.
     
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Massive multi-tasking also benefits from 64bit. I would not suggest 32bit, as it is just limiting himself for no good reason. 32 and 64 both cost the same, and 64 bit offers larger memory support if he ever needs it, but still offers equal compatibility to 32bit. There's no downside to using 64bit, so why wouldn't you?
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,207 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,512
    yup, exactly



    windows 7 (and vista) both run just fine for gaming on 4GB.


    The reason many people have 8GB is because DDR2 ram is cheap :)
     
  18. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,915 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Very well said :toast:
     
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    +1

    Was going to say exactly this.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,915 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    AMD's IMC limitations

    Probably exactly right, and maybe and issue with AMD's IMC
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,207 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,512
    more than likely - just like how many AMD's cant run 4 sticks of 1066MHz ram, and drop to 800 to make it work.
     
  22. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,915 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Yeah it makes for sloppy timings, or high voltages, neither are worth it
    Oh and don't forget about Video memory with x64 OS's
     
  23. fish00 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    thx for the help, ill just stay with the 4 gig crucial cause its faster then the gskill
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,207 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,512
    but it requires higher voltage, too.

    we dont know your specs so we cant advise you properly - for example on intels latest platforms (i5/i7) 1.65v is the maximum, so the crucial ram would be unusable.
     
  25. fish00 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page