1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4-pin `half-plug` from PSU into 4-pin slot on mobo?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by devil614, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. devil614 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I recently bought a ZOTAC GTS250 1GB video card, and a Cooler Master Extreme Power Plus 600 watt power supply to help it work. The power supply didn`t come with what would be a `normal`4-pin cord to go into the motherboard for extra power, but 2x 4-pin black cords that go to god-knows-what, and seem to be a `half and half` clip to hold them in place...

    One of these two half-cords fits into the 4-pin slot on the motherboard, so I tried that. I hope I didn`t, but did I fry my motherboard? Because now, after I removed all new hardware and put my PC back to it`s original state, the BIOS wont even show, and no beep when I boot up my PC like it used to.

    Any help is vastly appreciated.

    MOBO: Acer Aspire M5100 3GB RAM AMD Athlon 3.0GHz X2 Dual Core
     
  2. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    Texas
    The 2 four pins are meant to come apart. Newer higher end boards come with an 8 pin connection instead of a four.

    Check all your connections again and try it. Does you VGA require additional power, i.e. 6pin or 8 pin?
     
  3. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    No, you did not do anything wrong. Something else must be broken.

    It's a P4 (4-pin) on your board and some other boards use both which is EPS12v (8-pin).

    Here's the part where the diagnostic features of your mobo become very important. Any leds? Piezo-speaker? Maybe a bar LCD?
     
  4. devil614 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The vid card requires an 8-pin port, and came with an 8-pin to 2x6-pin adapter, which the PSU has (2x6-pin). But... the PSU DOES NOT have the required 4-pin for the MOBO`s extra power draw.

    the 2 4-pin`s are seperate, but they do go together, as their individual clips are offset and meet in the middle when you hold them side by side, which tells me they dont go to the mobo. maybe i should refund the PSU and check another one for this required 4-pin...


    thanks again guys, reply if u wanna.
     
  5. devil614 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    speakers=no, led`s yes, i got it to boot again, but i still wanna use the card i bought.

    cleared the bios, thank god its not fried.
     
  6. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,618 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    -.-

    it IS ment to go into the motherboard. new highend motherboards need 8pins... yours only needs 4 pins so it breaks in half so you can use it.
     
  7. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    Texas
    Are we talking about this PSU? If so then what Slyfox stated is accurate. The 8 pins split into 2 4 pins. Use one of them. :)
     
  8. devil614 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yep thats the one, but like I said, I tried using one of them (into the motherboard's 4-pin power slot, just above the CPU) and it seemed like it totally screwed it up. [no screen, no beeps]
     
  9. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    This. Like 9 million times this.

    If it's booting now whats stopping you from using the card you bought (other than it being a ZOTAC which will surely implode and kill several dozen starving children)?

    Look up what the LEDs mean in the mobo manual. Mobos which feature diagnostic LEDs will turn on in combination depending on the specific hardware failure.

    FYI only one of the two 4-pin connectors created by splitting the 8-pin connector will fit into the mobos 4-pin power socket. The plugs are all keyed so you can't accidentally plug the wrong one in.

    Was it working before without the 4-pin connector attached to the mobo? Most (if not all) mobos will not work without the 4-pin connector. Double check all connections. Make sure there is nothing causing a short circuit.
     
  10. devil614 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It's booting now because I put the OLD vid card and PSU back in.
    Yes, the MOBO requires a 4-pin to boot up at all.
    I don't have a manual for this mobo.
    I realize they are 'keyed' as you like to call it.
    No, as I mentioned, the MOBO wont boot up at all without a 4-pin plugged in.

    ..and LOL @ starving children :p
     
  11. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,618 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    NOthing wrong with Zotac :p


    mine overclocks just fine an has been running 24/7 for the last 2 years ^^... tho 1 in a million dosnt mean much.




    why dont u try putting the new psu in without the new video card and see if that works.. make sure u connect the 4 pin cable.
     
  12. devil614 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay, I just tried ONLY the three main plugs from the NEW PSU: it powered up, but still no screen or sounds, just steady power light.

    I remember that the store (Staples) where I purchased the video card also had a 240 series of the video card for $169.99, which may not require certain power cords, (I'll do a little research) and maybe it will run with my current setup, but it costs more because the 250 was on sale, ($139.99 regular $189.99), and I don't really want to get a lesser video card for more money.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page