1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4 TB Hitachi Desktop Hard Drive Starts Selling in Japan

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Dec 9, 2011.

  1. Cristian_25H

    Cristian_25H News Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,459 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,154
    Location:
    Still on the East Side
    While the hard drive industry as a whole continues to be affected by the Thailand floods, Hitachi Global Storage Technologies (GST) is ending 2011 on a high note by starting shipments of its first 4 TB 3.5-inch HDD. Codenamed HDS5C4040ALE630 and likely part of the Deskstar 5K (we're guessing 5K4000) series, the 4TB drive has yet to be announced by Hitachi but it can be found on sale in Japan, priced at 26,800 yen (~ US $ 345 / 259 Euro).

    Hitachi's 4 TB hard drive has 32 MB of buffer memory, a SATA 6.0 Gbps interface and makes use of the CoolSpin technology, which means its (likely four) platters operate at around 5900 RPM. No word yet on a 7200 RPM version but it's probably in the cards for 2012.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Akiba PC Watch
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 9, 2011
    1c3d0g and xaira say thanks.
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    About time, affordable harddrives have been stuck on 2TB for far too long. Larger disks available means 3TB goes down in price.
    PVTCaboose1337 and 1c3d0g say thanks.
  3. faramir New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    203 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Not buying their disk ever again

    IBM/Hitachi DeathStar ... It doesn't obliterate planets though, it obliterates itself (and your data along with it).
  4. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Oh please dont start with the if it's not WD or Samsung crap, and if your stupid enough not to back your data up then you can hardly complain when you lose it because your HDD fails can you? :rolleyes:
    suraswami, xaira and de.das.dude say thanks.
  5. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    That was many years ago. Not really relevant anymore.
    Roph says thanks.
  6. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    376 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    ^ exactly true. Every manufacturer has had bum hard drives.

    It seems like HDD reliability is at an all-time low right now. Seems like stuff is failing way more often now.

    On the flipside I would be happy to pay more $ for reliability, but even the "reliable" stuff turns out to be crap with mostly marketing fluff.
  7. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    I would like to stick one of those 4TB drives in my 1UE fileserver... and have a SSD on a SATA stick (Disk on Module) at 8 or 16GB with the OS on it, e.g. http://linitx.com/product/12654. I prefer my data drives to be separate from the OS. And in a 1UE (at least the one I have) there is only room for one drive if the drive is 3.5"

    Shame that Disk on Modules (DOM) are so expensive and still a bit S.L.O.W. But for 24/7 fileserver, probably ok.
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,562 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    910
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Though, tell me where to backup 4TB of data... Oh yes, by buying another 4TB drive. Which kind of ruins the entire point of owning a computer in the end...
  9. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Clever sales strategy eh? Therefore you need to buy two!

    Or you put the 4TB in your backup system... to back up your various PCs and laptops that have smaller HDDs.

    To reduce the burden of backups, I now have an Atom based fileserver running RAID mirror on two big identical drives. And I keep my desktop/laptop with smaller HDDs/SSDs and try to file off as much as I can to the fileserver.

    It's not a perfect system... I'm not actually backing up the desktop or laptop, but I can't spend my life running backups all the time.

    The thing that stops most people filing off to a fileserver is the OVERHEAD TIME of organising your files. etc. But actually, if you get into the discipline, you can get used to it.
    xaira says thanks.
  10. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    The same way you back up any amount of data you copy it :rolleyes: so yes to another 4TB drive or you back up only important data to a smaller drive, its not rocket science and is a very basic principle, why you don't seem to grasp that I do not know, and if you can't be bothered doing that well who's hard cheese is it when it does die and you have lost all of your data? of course you would probably be the first to blame the HDD manufacturer when really it's your fault you didn't back it up in the first place, the size matters not.

    I see you have 1 2TB drive, do you have important data on that and if so where is it backed up to?

    I don't back up all my data, my pictures however I do as they are more important than any games/movies music etc and they are backed up to another drive as well as the cloud for peace of mind.
  11. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Use compact flash instead?
  12. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    What happened to Seagate's 4TB 7200rpm sub-200euro drives? Sure the price is not gonna be that, but where are they?
  13. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,101 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Tape drive, it's still the best backup and quite cheap.
  14. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    tapes are more expensive than hard drives
  15. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    No there not, drives are another story.
  16. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,101 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Tapes are very cheap for the amount of space you get, but the unit costs quite a lot. But still, you can just buy a used unit, they are built like tanks and can last for ages anyway.
  17. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Hitachi eh? Nice. 4tb could come in very handy, also if that means 2tb/3tb prices go down.
  18. xaira

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    209 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    hitachi is a good brand now, i own a 500gb that goes hard, what im worried about is the "first to market curse" where they ship the buggy first drives so they can say they were first
  19. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/Computing-/58058/i.html?_nkw=dat&_catref=1&_trksid=p3286.c0.m1538

    I assume that's a typical price for them(i dont really know)?? Even at current escilated hdd prices that is more than a 2tb hdd will cost you

    "ultrium" tapes, whatever they are, seem quite competetive. But surely they are slower than a hdd?? and still quite small?? Biggest I can find is 400 gb compressed??

    I'm sure they have their place, but at home i'd rather just buy a second hdd for backup if needed
  20. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,101 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    New units for newest Ultrium tapes are are up to 4000$ (http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/us/en/sm/WF25a/12169-304612-3446236-3446236-3446236-4150338.html) and support 3TB tapes (1,5TB uncompressed).
    The speed on LTO4 is around 120MB/s on LTO5 it's even higher due to higher density.

    Totally agree that for home use you don't need anything special, a second HDD for critical data will be just fine.
    But I still prefer to backup to tapes, it may be slow on the old tape drive I have, but at least the data is safe ;)
  21. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,427 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Negatron 5000 sir. There are many better solutions in the market right now that are much cheaper and more responsive than Tapes.

    Asigra.com -- Check em out.
  22. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,037 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    799
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Looks good but 32MB cache, is that a-tad low for such a large drive or does it really matter? :rolleyes:
  23. ironwolf

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    266 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Pensacola, FL, USA, Earth
    If it's a 5900 RPM spinner, I could probably see why only 32MB cache. The 7200 RPM version I could surely see a 64MB cache. Would also help differentiate the two models more and the prices on them.
  24. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,393 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    560
    Location:
    AZ
    apparently you've never heard of RAID.
  25. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,580 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,367
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Thanks for that insightful comment. Why?

    BACK OT: This news got me wondering about Moore's law applied to HDD's. And the fact that it just doesn't seem to apply...
    yogurt_21 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page