1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

450W psu enough?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Pinchy, Jul 19, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,520 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,640
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Agreed, 21A gives you 250W. But I based it on things such as efficiency, continuous output. Actual output always differs from what's rated (on the sticker). It's noted that load on the PSU and its efficiency are inversely proportional.
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  2. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Wont even be 21A. You cant add up rails like that. Also, a generic PSU running at high loads is a recipe for disaster.

    Also, load and effeciency arent inversely proportional. Efficiency for a given PSU varies with heat. Too cool or too hot and it will become less efficient. Hence, why most PSUs have peak efficiency for median load.

    edit: I see what you mean that, power loss being (I^2)R but what more important is how R changes as heat changes as it will be at magnitude bigger than what I^2 will be. Also, I would have thought most power loss would have occurred in the transformers. Either way heat plays a much larger role than the load itself.

    edit2:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transformers#Energy_losses

    What im talking about is winding resistance.
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2008
    Pinchy says thanks.
  3. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yeah thats true. I was just thinking that if the system used 200W (which it should...a 3.6Ghz e8400 should use around abouts a q6600, maybe a bit more, but when you consider it is overclocked, so FSB goes up and all) then the extra 50W can be the buffer for all these factors. Then again, I have little idea, which is why I have asked here lol.

    Also another thing is that its not a gaming computer, the most it will do is have to playback HD content or convert some audio files. (Not that it should be a factor, because if games manage to find themselves installed :p...)
     
  4. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    want to do me a favor Pinchy, take the housing off and take a picture inside.

    - Christine
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  5. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,520 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,640
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Ah, winding resistance. Left that back at school. :)
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  6. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ok so I popped open the hood and you can see whats underneath :cool:
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,205 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,509
    well that looks like a cheap PSU to me!

    as they said you ant add rails directly, so you'll have around 200W between your 12V rails. To be honest, thats nowhere near enough.

    Go get a cheap (relatively) brand name PSU. corsair is the current favourite (and what christine will back) while i say models such as those from antec and OCZ are just fine too.
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  8. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I dno, the guy doesnt really have the money for a new PSU.

    I might just try it and see how it goes under full load for a couple of hours (prime95). From what I have gathered from all the posts....it IS pushing it but definately not impossible. That gives me all the reason to test it out :D
     
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    You need a new one.. that looks like crap.. Get a OCZ, Corsair, FSP, Antec or something..
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,520 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,640
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Corsair VX450W. The most honest PSU ever made.
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  11. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Lol yeah but its also $100.


    As I said, im gonna try out this 450W. I have done crap far more far fetched than this, and it has worked out fine (only difference here is that its not my comp this time, its someone elses).

    TBH, if this was my comp, I probably would have tried the 350W PSU w/ 10A on the 12V rail that came with the case :p (Damn shop for not having the CM Centuron in stock with 450W CM PSU, as opposed to the CM elite 330, which came with this generic 350W)
     
  12. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    primarys are capxon and secondarys are teapo's. I can't find the maker :(

    - Christine
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,647 (13.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,037
    It's better than honest! 450W isn't even the max wattage this PSU delivers! Most other "generic" brand or lesser brand PSU's advertise thier products peak wattage.
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,520 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,640
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    They guarantee it to run a Core 2 Quad 95W, A 9800 GX2, two HDDs. It's being honest. Besides, 32~33A rated on a single rail and 85+ efficiency, high-grade Seasonic internals. In other words, it's as good as a 600W generic PSU.
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  15. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Poor planning to have a p5k, q6600 and hd3850 without checking the psu out at first. But if its running okay, I suppose if anything does happen most likely itll just be downtime. I dont think theres that much possibility of damage to components? It should have overcurrent protection?
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  16. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Na, if the store I got the case from actually had the CM PSU in it, none of this problem would have happened. The 450W CM PSU had 18A on one rail and 16 on the other, which is what I was planning to get.


    Also yeah thats the thing; it wont damage anything so I guess its worth a try. If it runs for hours with prime95 on all four cores going, it should be fine IMO.
     
  17. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hmmm I just found a CM eXtreme 390W PSU up for cheap.

    Hows it sound? 16A & 18A rails....
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,205 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,509
    coolermaster PSU's are pretty crap to be honest. i've used a few. I wouldnt use ANY of them on a quad core system with a high end GPU. you arent talking random crashes here, we're talking a chance of the entire system going up in smoke.
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  19. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    I remember it was around 500W continuous :laugh:
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  20. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    lol I just cant see that happening when a power supply that has a rated 410W of power (on amperage, not wattage) only has to power a computer that will use a max of 200W.
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,205 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,509
    and if 200W of that is on the 5V rail, 50W is on the 3.3V rail, that leaves what, 160W between the 12V devices?

    its not the overall power, its WHERE the power is. If its got split rails as well, then it can be overloaded very easily
    example: what if his mobo powers the video card through the PCI-E slot more than the rear plug? that increases the load on the main rail
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  22. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    3.3V and 5V use 160W, 12V rails use 216W (on their site).

    To me, that seems like too much power :\
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,205 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,509
    those would be peak values, what you think it would be sustained? also 12V rails dont combine perfectly, so if its 216W between them, each rail might have 130W max for example.
     
    Pinchy says thanks.
  24. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Lol ok....well out of the following, what do we think:

    A-Power Black Label 650 Watt Single-Fan $39

    Thermaltake 430W $39

    GIGABYTE 460W $55 (looks fairly good on the GB website)

    Coolermaster Extreme 390W $44

    Huntkey V-Power 550W $61

    A-Power Gold Label 860 Watt Dual-Fan $59


    Im leaning towards the gigabyte one:

    http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products...ec.aspx?ProductID=2796&ProductName=Superb 460
     
  25. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2008
    Pinchy says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page