1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

45C for FX-62 Idle Temp?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Mediocre, Sep 24, 2007.

  1. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Is 45C too high for an FX-62 @ idle? It has a 92mm Scythe and should be drawing in fresh air through the cpu vent in his case.

    The only catch right now is that he has no exhaust fan connected (no side fan either, just the CPU vent) and a 120mm intake.

    He says he applied his paste by spreading it evenly across the surface (nearly transparent)...

    I haven't worked with AMD since 939 (and have never worked with an FX)...if this were 939 I'd say his temps were a bit high.

    I'm guessing he should re-seat his HSF...any other opinions?

    Thanks, :toast:
  2. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I think the chip likes to run hot.
    Mediocre says thanks.
  3. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    OK Cool, we're going to re-apply the paste and HSF at lunch, then run some games and see.


    You wouldn't happen to know the deal with Vista, 3dmark05 and SLI would you? '05 keeps crashing when he has his sli enabled. It displays a green/red bar on the left side of the screen, with SLI on the top left, then it crashes out...He says he read something about a patch for vista64/sli/and '05, but we can't seem to find an actual file...
  4. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
  5. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Thanks D, he probably needed that, but it didn't fix 3dmark05

    His error is:

    IDirect3DDevice9::CreateTexturefailed:n/a (Unknown)

    :banghead:

    I'm posting this in the 05 thread as well....not a huge issue...but this is why I've avoided SLI/Xfire...doesn't seem to work very often...
  6. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I haven't had any issues with Crossfire and performance in any games.....
  7. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    That's not the right way to apply TIM to the lid of that tasty cpu! Make sure BOTH the lid and base of heatsink are cleaned well with strong alcohol and when they're both dry just apply a TINY amount in the centre of the cpu, I've been using the same amount as about half a grain of rice and it works wonders. They DO run hot tho, then again the multiplier IS 14!
    Mediocre says thanks.
  8. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    i think for 3dmark you have to install directX 9 for vista to run it properly..
    Mediocre says thanks.
  9. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    He says he has installed DX9.0c, but, I guess we'll try it again.... Any idea what the file might be called?

    I checked vista windows update and the only updates are language packs.

    I've googled it, can't find an actual file tho...any links would be appreciated

    EDIT: found an article on TPU! :D

    http://www.techpowerup.com/?25528
  10. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    FYI - It was a bad Foxconn 8600GTS. He has one card that works just fine for everything, the secondary card, when run by itself, gives the texture error...hopefully newegg will RMA something that has had its UPC removed for MIR...
  11. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Nope they wont, have to send it to Foxconn
  12. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    DAMN...he had 2 cards...one he still has the UPC, the other has already been sent...lets hope the s/n for the upc he still has is the correct one (I bet he could tape it from the inside and get away with it...


    As for the FX temp - We re-seated the cooler and fixed the exhaust fan...got it down to 39-40C idle...not great, but OK for a hot chip (he's already talking liquid cooling :rockout:)

    That sux though...I did warn him to fully test the cards before cutting out the UPC's...
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well, my 5200+ stock speed @ 1.325V idles 38C stock cooling with an open case with no case fans.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    its quite hot, my x2 4600 loads at 40c, and im in the northeastern states of the us with the windows open if you wanna know my ambient lol.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page