1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

45nm Xeon Clock Frequencies Leaked By Intel

Discussion in 'News' started by HellasVagabond, Jul 16, 2007.

  1. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    The new batch of 45nm Xeons is actually based on the Penryn processor and also feature the 1333 MHz front-side bus found on the new Core 2 Duo stepping. Each die features 6MB of L2 cache resulting in a total of 12MB of L2 cache.
    The latest 45nm Xeon ( Codename HarperTown ) Quad Core line is as follows

    X5640 3.16 GHz 120W 1333 MHz 12MB
    E5450 3.00 GHz 80W 1333 MHz 12MB
    E5440 2.83 GHz 80W 1333 MHz 12MB
    E5430 2.66 GHz 80W 1333 MHz 12MB
    E5420 2.50 GHz 80W 1333 MHz 12MB
    E5410 2.33 GHz 80W 1333 MHz 12MB
    E5405 2.10 GHz 80W 1333 MHz 12MB
    L5430 2.66 GHz 50W 1333 MHz 12MB
    L5410 2.33 GHz 50W 1333 MHz 12MB

    While the Dual Core 45nm Xeons ( Codenamed WolfDale ) are

    E5260 3.33 GHz 65W 1333 MHz 6MB
    E5205 1.86 GHz 65W 1066 MHz 6MB
    L5250 3.16 GHz 40W 1333 MHz 6MB

    Source: Intel


    Ps : Its Quad Cores people....All sites around the net made the same mistake and corrected it so sorry for the mixup :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2007
  2. lordlatte

    lordlatte

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    All this news today is just overwhelming. I wasn't under the impression that they were doing much with single cores anymore, whats the benefit for a server to be single core? Also the 40W TDP is quite impressive on the L5250, I guess thats the 45nm for you.
     
  3. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    These XEONS are beasts so even a single core aint something to laugh at :)
     
  4. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    TDP to core and cache to core ratios do not compute, I think you listed them the wrong way round ;)

    Edit:
    What I want to know is whether they have SSE 4.1 included. I presume they do ...
     
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,027 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Wait I don't understand. If each core has 6MB of cache, then why do the single cores have 12MB and the dual cores only 6MB? Shouldn't that be reversed?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    I think its 2dies x 6mb for the single core cpus...Couldnt find more info on them so far.
     
  7. ryboto

    ryboto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    294 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    do you mean single core, or single cpu? if it's the former, that doesn't make much sense, considering a die shrink shouldn't increase TDP's.
     
  8. Flint

    Flint New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    41 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    G'burg, MD
    Harpertowns are the 45nm Xeon's based on the Penryn design, I think. This would account for the higher TDP numbers.
     
  9. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    6mb for a single core?!?!? i think they were talking about 6mb per die (aka two cores)....also, i think the top things that are "single core" look as if they should be quad cores, while the bottom except for the 40 watt tpu are dual core while the 40 watt tpu is single core. that's what i think anyways....
     
  10. Flint

    Flint New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    41 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    G'burg, MD
    Sorry, I meant to say that the processors labeled "single core" should be "quad core" as they are the Harpertowns. Intel is focusing a lot more on the quads in the server market.
     
  11. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Yeah, I thought both companies were mostly done with single core chips. Ah well, these look rather impressive.
     
  12. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Its quad cores and dual cores...Mixup people sorry :)
     
    kwchang007 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page