1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

460 GTX SLI - GPU Usage Problem

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Professa, Mar 30, 2012.

  1. Professa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello everyone. I have recently noticed that in rift (the primary game I play) my frame rate is about 30 fps. When I initially installed the game, I was at 55-60 consistently. I have not touched any power settings or messed with bios in any way. The only thing I have done is installed drivers and patched the game. I have tried multiple versions of drivers, but my gpu usage is constantly at 15-20% even when the game demands more usage. The temperature never exceeds 50 degrees C.

    I have looked around for solutions, and many say the problem is a bottlenecked CPU. However, I have a 980-x processor (6-core 3.33ghz) and I previously got very good GPU usage on the same exact setup several months ago. I've got max performance on my video card as well in power options and CPU. I am using MSI afterburner to observe this problem in GPU usage.

    I tested both of my 460 GTXs individually and they had no problems exceeding 80-90% usage on their own. In SLI, however, they're capped for some reason. Any ideas?

    RAM: 12 GB DDR3 Kingston Hyperx
    Processor: 980-x 3.33 ghz 6-core
    Motherboard: DX58SO2
    GPU: 460 GTX SLI. 1 GB MSI Cyclone, 1GB Gigabyte GV-N460SO-1G
    Hard Drive: Crucial RealSSD C300
    PSU: 850W Corsair CMPSU-850TX
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2012
  2. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    The game probally does nog support sli because than you het werd gpu usage, i experience IT in tdu 2 wit a gtx 295
     
  3. Professa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It does support SLI though. It worked for me in the past.
     
  4. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Maybe a fresh install would help, somethimes pc's are a pain in the ass
     
  5. LDNL

    LDNL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    463 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    Finland
    Post your whole system speccs or edit it in the first post. On that note I dare not belive the 980x is causing this. Has to be driver/software related imo
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page