1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4770 to a 4870

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Virus-j, Oct 29, 2010.

  1. Virus-j

    Virus-j

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    UK
    Hi all,

    So im thinking about getting a new Graphics card was looking at the 5770 but Doubted i need that card Atm.

    Anyway im going from a 4770 to a 4870 Well im bidding on a card on ebay and wanted to ask do you think that will be ok for me only upgrading due to me buying a 23" syncmaster and wanted to play in the 1080 Res. Sortta games il be playing is Company of heroes, Maybe Crysis I mostly a play strategy games Ie Supreme commander Etc.

    Also I heard there was a Fan Problem with the 4000 Series Or something to that Effect and i was told that the Fan does'nt Get faster as the Card gets Warmer anyone know if they have fixed this now in the CCC could'nt find the info on Google as most of the Reviews and Forum were old was abit worried about that as some people are saying the card runs at 80c on idle is that Normal ?:wtf:
     
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    4870 is a good card nonetheless but aim for the 5770(or maybe even a 2nd hand gtx275).
     
    Virus-j says thanks.
  3. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,180 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    997
    If you want to run Crysis on high settings @ 1080P, pretty sure you'd need more juice than a 5770.
     
    Virus-j says thanks.
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Also wanted to mention. Recently had a Silverstone Strider 600W that couldn't power a 4870 properly. So you may need to look at other options or upgrade your psu at the same time.
     
    Virus-j says thanks.
  5. Virus-j

    Virus-j

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    UK
    Yh, Figured i would'nt be able to run Crysis on 1080p without Something Pretty Decent. Atm i can Run Crysis All on High at 1280x1024 At about 30 - 40 Fps But I dont Really play That much any more so not to botherd About running that. As i said im mostly a Strategy Gamer and mostly Play CoH and Supreme.

    My power Supply Is 550w Cit Dual Rail ....... Just check the Box....Lol

    Edit Forgot to Add this 4870 is Going For £50
     
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,627 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,770
    at that rez - Id move to get a GTX460 or a cheap 5850 if you can. the 4870 is a good card but compared to other cards it has a higher power consumption.
    4870 is still a steal at that price if you arent too fussy about playing the game at lower settings.
     
    Virus-j says thanks.
  7. Virus-j

    Virus-j

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    UK
    Thx, i would Get a Better Card But haven't Really Got the Cash For a GTX460 or 5850 and Would'nt Have that Money for a long time and By that time a new Card will of Come out Which is better...Lol

    I still want to Upgrade My Cpu to A X4 955 or 965 Aswell. Atm im playing company of Heroes On Full Res all on High at about 30 Frames on a 8 player map but sometimes Pause when i use artillery Etc So thought that Bit Extra would Do it Same with mass effect 2 Random Pause on High Res.

    I also Bought Civ 5 Recently and that is Running on Medium on Full Res.

    Do you thing aswell the Psu i got is enough ?


    Lol, Think i have Screwed Up with my Recent Purchases..
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2010
  8. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,294 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Get a 5770. Will run cooler and while all the reviews show it slower than a 4870 you should be able to overclock the 5770 more and still run cool and use less power. I know with my broken 5770 that I can max out the core at 960 and still runs cool. Plus DX11.

    You said 50 Euros what's a normal 5770 run for over there?
     
    driver66 and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @mastrdrvr
    They usually go for 100 currently. ~ 70 2nd hand.
     
    mastrdrver says thanks.
  10. Virus-j

    Virus-j

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    UK
    Ok, I just Won it For £57 Including Postage. It was a Sapphire 4870 and has been Been ROM flashed to the latest Version. does that Seem good ?
     
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Good for the price, REALLY REALLY GOOD. Just be careful and keep your 4770 handy in case you notice any weird artifacts you can then switch back.

    In other words, test the card as soon as you get it. DO NOT RUN FURMARK WITH IT! Loop 3dmark Vantage a couple times. If you run ok, my idea, sell the 4770 to get a better psu.
     
    Virus-j says thanks.
  12. Virus-j

    Virus-j

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    UK
    Ok, What's 3dmark and what does it Do ? Never used it Before ?

    Also What am I looking for Exactly like what will 3dmark Tell me and i take it and i take it this is to do with my Psu ?
     
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Its a gaming benchmark. If you can run it a few times consecutively(looping it). It would simulate you running a game for a little bit.

    www.futuremark.com
     
  14. Virus-j

    Virus-j

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    UK
    Ok thanks will do that and i take it i'll be checking to see if there are any performance Issues With the Pc ? Also i take it this is to do with my PSu Being well Cheap ?
     
  15. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,294 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    memory artifacts
    gpu artifact

    While they used a nVidia card the artifacts should be similar.

    If the psu is not able to hold up then the usual thing that happens is the system will reboot in the middle of running 3DMark. There are other things that can happen but that is the norm.
     
  16. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,487 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    606
    Location:
    AZ
    older reviews place the 4870 20% faster than the 4770 so you should notice a decent difference in performance, especially when turning up eye candy.
     
  17. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,656 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    London
    I have a reference HD4870 on my other system with an Enermax 425w PRO, never had a problem; the card needs around 14-15 amps. Congratulations you just bought a great card for a great price (I got my card in August 2008 for £170). Notice that it idles at around 77c, use CCC and downclock the memory yourself from 900mhz all the way to the left and the temps will drop some 20c without touching the fan; you need to set it back to 900 when you game though. MSI Afterburner doesn't work properly, at least with my card it won't allow me togo over 790mhz on the clock. Enjoy!
     
    Virus-j and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  18. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,188 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    651
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    5770 is great and it's DX11 , also there is big price drop for GTX460
     
  19. Virus-j

    Virus-j

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    UK
    Should Get it Tommorow with any luck, Also i found a Video on youtube and someone has got the XFX 4870 Running with the Same Make Psu as me CIt On a 450w and i got a 550w So it should work with any luck.

    I also Saw a 4870 on Ebay For £55 + £5 postage Still on there Now But it's a XFx Guy is Selling it As the Fan is loud and he said he bought it this year but i decided to Go for the Sapphire.

    Pretty lucky i got it for £50 as i was Watching another and it went for £79 Inc P&P the one i bought did end at half 1 in the morning though so that may of been why.
     
  20. ManofGod

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    153 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    You just made an excellent purchase and should be very pleased with it. :rockout::D However, I recommend using 3DMark 06 as a test instead of Vantage. The reason for that is because unless you purchase Vantage, you can only run it once and that is all.

    At least with 06, you can run it pretty much as many times as you want. (The free one cannot be looped but it will run again and again manually.)
     
  21. Virus-j

    Virus-j

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    UK
    Ok, I'll buy that 3DMark 06 as it looks like it Would be handy to have..

    Also What does the Rom flash thing Do For the Graphics card i just bought ?
     
  22. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,487 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    606
    Location:
    AZ
    shouldn't have to buy it, the free version should suffice.
     
  23. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,611 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    Im a HD4870 user , while it's good it's a bit hotter but not critical , also it's the biggest power consumption hog , personally id went for 6850 or 5770 gladly , if you want 6850/6870 you GRAB them now while the price is low on sites (if the price changes after your sumission i think it's your right to pay what the price you did at the time of listing) , in my country prices already whent up in a few days , if you want 5 series for even cheaper then wait until december shopping spree then 5770 will probably get a cut a little.
     
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,627 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,770
    with that in mind - I had 2x4870's which turned my pc into a room heater - honestly the best f**king investment a man has ever made.

    since i run 1 5850 now - my room is so cold :/ I swear i see penguins
     
    RuskiSnajper says thanks.
  25. Virus-j

    Virus-j

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    UK
    Lol, i got two Pc's in my Room and it Get Pretty Warm this 4870 will probably turn my Room into a sauna.

    So From what I'v Read and Heard these 4870's Get pretty warm and the Fan Speed does not Increase Is that a fualt with the Card or It's Supposed to Be like that ? Also If the Fan Speed Is'nt Increasing with the stock fan can i just Buy a new Cooler and will that solve it ?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page