1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

$48.99 Samsung 30nm DDR3 1600 hitting 2133?!?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by LagunaX, Jan 24, 2012.

  1. Cybrnook

    Cybrnook

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    716 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    C:\Kitteh
    I know, thats why I stated "UNGH" I want to see what he is getting so far..... Dave is a tease...:cool:
     
  2. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    Found this memory for around £40 on ebay delivered to UK. US seller...

    The only question mark is for me, I have a P67 Sandy Bridge system, for this kind of system the extra memory speed (2133) seems to make next to no difference to real world tests like game frame rate. Am I right? Also is there any chance Ivy Bridge will benefit more in future? Same mobo. I will be upgrading to ivy.

    Your sage advice most welcome folks. £40 is reasonable to me for this memory.
     
  3. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,264 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    657
    It makes no difference on any platform really outside of benchmarking and MAYBE a FPS here or there. For 99% of users, DDR3 1600Mhz is fine.
     
    Millennium says thanks.
  4. revin

    revin

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    667 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    For me,the sammie's at 1866/19xx on my Intel Z68 boot's and opens programs way faster than at 1600
    But that said, even at the same "speeds", the Mushkins felt faster still:wtf:
    :toast:
     
    Millennium says thanks.
  5. tedy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
  6. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ok nice but available for under £40 on ebay in UK. Also overclockers have a terrible reputation in some parts for actual ordering etc. But nice to see their results.
     
  7. tedy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    link me ebay please.
     
  8. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,543 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    938
    You can get these in a tall version? Where?
     
  9. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    Sorry man looks like it sold out at that price. Still available for £44 here from us ebay seller with shipping to here. Still thinking about this, seems like things like photoshop and video encoding would be better, not so sure on gaming.

    however looks like 3 weeks ish for delivery and always possibility of delays and charges due to customs. Might be more hassle then it's worth.
     
  10. tedy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    US seller = custom tax :p
     
  11. Gero1369 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Has anyone gotten this working with a 4P AMD G34 system?
     
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,943 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,066
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Not many users here with such a system, unfortunately. I tried harrassing a certain AMD server marketing rep into sending me some samples, but he never did, so I cannot test such things, either.
     
  13. waveforme

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Just hit the local MicroCenter here in Chicago to pick up another set... for future purposes.

    Website for MC showed that they had 10+ at Chicago store. When I got there, they only had 1 set left. Turns out someone had placed a web order for 30 sets.
     
  14. Gero1369 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Anyone seen any numbers on any bulldozer based systems, especially multi-proc systems (including IL)?
     
  15. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,275 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Don't use unregistered memory for server platforms, you really should be getting a server kit that uses registered ECC memory.
     
  16. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,613 (8.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,473
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    gg
     
  18. Gero1369 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    for folding

    I'd be using this setup for folding, so ECC memory is not needed (it's not 'mission critical'). The board supports non-ECC, unbuffered memory and this is what I plan to go with. It's the direction that current 'power folders' are heading. Just checking to see if anyone here has used the stuff in a Bulldozer based machine (MC or IL).
     
  19. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'm running 4 non-low voltage stickies in my bulldozer set up. Havent really had the time to play with them yet sadly, I just did a quick and dirty OC to 1866 at 9-9-9 with 1,55V(they are 1,5V at stock) and that has been stable so far. With these settings they're not even hand-warm.

    I'm planning on doing more tweaking later though.
     
  20. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,275 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Just keep in mind that the extra load on the IMC might not let you have many unbuffered sticks because of the extra power required to drive the memory. If you're planning on filling more than half of the dimm slots you very well might run into issues. I'm just saying if you're going to be taking the route of a server platform that is a very smart move to do it correctly. I can't over-emphasize using buffered memory on server platforms, even if ECC isn't necessary.
     
  21. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,901 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
  22. Gero1369 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I'm going to run 1/2 (4 of 8 slots) per CPU. Lots of people run 'regular' memory in the boards for folding (SuperMicro H8QG series boards). I appreciate your concern:) I'll just be running the minimum amount of memory to hit quad-channel. If I could find them for cheap, I'd run 1GB sticks, but the 2GB sticks will work fine.
     
  23. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,275 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    A long as you did the research, just make sure to check out the memory spec sheet before you go ahead. (Using udimms might restrict you to 4gb per channel.) Best of luck to you, interlagos is a beast on multi-threaded workloads.

    Cheers. :toast:
     
  24. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    Edit: thanks to mudkip I ordered the non LP version of this memory, M378B5273DH0-CH9, from dealforu.co.uk for around £36 delivered. Good price considering 20% vat here in the EU. Merchant reviews are quite mixed but I paid with paypal so should be covered. Just hope this is as good as the LP memory!

    *sigh* can't get this in the UK for any kind of decent price.

    Anyone willing to send from USA to me? USPS First Class seems to be $10 so $60 all in all more or less. Would be willing to PPG first but would need some decent heatware feedback naturally :)

    Will worry about customs charge if it happens. You are welcome to open the pack and play with the sticks for a day or two before sending - as long as you don't kill em!

    If anyone would like to do me this favour please drop me a PM, cheers.
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2012
  25. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Non LP version with the same chips are available on the european market.
     
    Millennium says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page