1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

$48.99 Samsung 30nm DDR3 1600 hitting 2133?!?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by LagunaX, Jan 24, 2012.

  1. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Thanks dumo I'm going to MC on Saturday to buy four stick of this; will look for that batch.

    FYI got that $15 coupon to finally work for me but the whole thing was kind of a weird pain. First it wouldn't even show me the forum page as if I needed to be logged in, then tried again two days ago and could see the thread at AT. Then loaded the coupon link with my info and it came up but said something like invalid as "used too many times". But this one allowed you to pass it on to a friend as well so I put in my own info and hit submit and it emailed me a valid link.

    Edit: Just got two sets of 8GB YKO-1205 $85 with the coupon after tax.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2012
  2. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    So far so great; my concerns about running on older IMC were unfounded (though perhaps also this 1205 batch just really kicks ass). So far 2160 9-10-10 at just 1.55v in bios (think my board overvolts .02 tho need to bust out the multimeter). Spent less than a half hour with them too so I don't even know what they can really do yet.

    [​IMG]
     
    LagunaX and dumo say thanks.
  3. tedy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    i also got 1205 batch :)
     
  4. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Got it down to 1.53v in BIOS now with no other changes so far; maybe can run 2160 with even less. Trying to follow Dave's rec re. tWCL but I do not see that subtiming anywhere on my system.
     
  5. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    NB: I have the non LP version of this memory, same chips, more easily available in EU.
    Samsung M378B5273DH0-CH9. I paid around £36 delivered.

    Really happy with this memory so far. I had to try for 2400 straight away - unfortunately no luck, with the timings in the TPU review, and 1.575v. Even tried 2T no joy.

    Still 2133 was much easier to achieve. I'm currently running 9-10-10-28 1T with the subtimings still set for 2400 from the review (except the one thats CAS-1, that's now 8). Yes I could tweak these later. 1.5v seems nice and stable.

    Considering these non-LP might not clock quite as well I am well pleased. This is on a mid range mATX P67 board with a 2500k at 4.5ghz (100 bclk).

    I'm seriously considering buying another set for 16gb. Would this affect my overclocks do you think? Is RAM really about to go up in price? I doubt it's going down lol

    PS i got 1206 memory but it took like 10 days to arrive !
     
  6. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,469 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,171
    it could. all depends on your imc. you'll probably end up having to add vtt voltage and loosening timings slightly, but 2133-2200 is definitely achievable with 16GB and sandy bridge.
     
  7. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yep these 1205s do 2400 11-11-11 1.65v on Lynnfield relatively no prob but not that impressed with the bandwidth numbers compared to 2160 9-10-10 so far; still tweaking and testing. Even got Memtest 4.1 #5 to pass as well as a MaxxMem run at 2400 10-11-11 1.66v with some loosened subs too but blue screened after like 5 minutes. No huge diff with CAS 10 that jumped out at me but didn't get screen.

    Have two more sticks here to try out as well and thus can also test 16GB (and also a buddy's Sandy build to try them in).
     
    Random Murderer and Millennium say thanks.
  8. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,780 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    209
    Anyone got this set of RAM with a Phenom II x6? I can't overclock atm with my shitty RAM. It doesn( pass Prime95 blend tests UNDERclocked :(
     
  9. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    686 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    623
    Location:
    NYC
    1205s binned can do 2500 10-13-13-31 1T 1.65V HyperPi 32m and maxmem mem read @ 26100ish latency 41ns on Z77 or X79 with good imc on cpu
     
  10. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Did you look through the XS thread?
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  11. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,780 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    209
    Nooooo gonna check now

    edit: This post says memory doesn't overclock well with Phenom II

    But I guess it's not as important as getting dat CPU speed up :D
     
  12. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Up too 2208 so far still 9-10-10 and still under 1.6v. These are Mayos sticks! :D

    [​IMG]
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  13. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,780 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    209
    I don't understand what timings are, but is it as simple as getting any of the three numbers as low as possible = better? I.e I'm aiming for 2133, and then shave numbers on the timings? Or should I not really bother changing the timings
     
  14. Scheich

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    245 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Yes, but its more of a curiosity thing. Changing timings doesnt affect the overall speed much.
     
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,000 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,724
    Location:
    US
  16. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    when are we gona get ddr4?
     
  17. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Actually that depends both on the specific timing as well as, to a lesser extent, the platform one is on. Apparently lower timings has more of a noticeable effect on AMD machines than Intel (where raw frequency/clock is king). And certain ones do affect bandwidth more than others, obviously main CAS Latency being the most significant. And sometimes there are some more obscure ones like tRD back on X48 which lowering one tick gave a couple few thousand more MB/s read in AIDA and such.

    So Mayo you really just have to test and see what combo of clocks and timings gives you the best performance/bandwidth numbers on your machine. Most of the subtimings you can leave on AUTO if you'd like but can't hurt to play/test.
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2012
  18. anotheralex New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I am currently running 2x4gb of these with an fx-6100. Running at 1920mhz 9-9-9-24 @ 1.47v.

    Anyone know, or have confirmed if it is possible to maintain a good speed and timings if another 2x4gb sticks where added?

    I'm asking because I am thinking of adding another 8 gigs of these ram and considering how memory on AMD boards tend to do pretty poorly when all 4 ram slots are taken, it may be a bad idea.
     
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,052 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,211
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Don't bother with 2 more sticks. ;)
     
  20. anotheralex New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Oh, okay, I guess it would be a bad idea.
    Thanks.
     
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,052 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,211
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    It's not that I think it's a bad idea...It's more that I do not see any benefit from doing so, except for the most extreme cases. If you do video rendering, or work on large projects in PHotoshop, go for it, but if not, it's not going to gin you anything performance-wise.

    You could probably still hit the smae speeds, but it's take using teh 1600 MHz memory divider and upping the clock, as the 1866 divider works best with only two DIMM slots populated.
     
    anotheralex says thanks.
  22. anotheralex New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Oh, I was just going to use it as a Ram disk, for temporarily holding files.
    Buying an ssd would probably be a better choice in the end.

    As you said, keeping 4 slots of ram at 1866+ would require me to play with the settings in the bios again and look for the right stable settings, which I would rather avoid the headache, because repetitive testing.

    Thanks again, it is good to hear this directly from an expert.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,052 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,211
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I wouldn't call myself an "expert" per se, but thanks! :laugh:
     
  24. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,095 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hehe i've got 4 of these stickies running on my bulldozer and i've had them stable all the way up to 2100MHz with T1 and 11-11-11 timings, after that it got a bit fiddly and I wasnt able to keep them stable(with T1 atleast). I've been using them at 2040 with 9-10-10 timings for quite some time now and they run perfectly stable.

    Sooo, if you refrain from buying 2 more sticks because of stability issues, dont, unless you plan running them at 2100+MHz.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  25. anotheralex New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Oh, that's good to hear, although, what voltage are you running it at 2040?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page