1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

$48.99 Samsung 30nm DDR3 1600 hitting 2133?!?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by LagunaX, Jan 24, 2012.

  1. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,513 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,233
    [​IMG]


    I've still got plenty of headroom, too. Booted straight to 2400 with no issues, all that was required was a slight voltage bump to 1.4125.
    Certainly not an overclock worthy of the Rampage name, but hey, the system was first booted yesterday!:roll:
     
  2. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,513 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,233
    Am I doing it right?

    [​IMG]
     
    Millennium says thanks.
  3. reeltape New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    15 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Settings for 32gb Samsung on Rampage IV extreme asus memtweakit ?(RIVE R4E asus 30nm)

    HI guys and gals - I have 32gb of this Samsung Green with a memtweakit DRAM Efficiency of 41377; 11-11-11-28 CR2; RTL 41 and I think it's 1.65v (this is just what UEFI put it at out of the box) I bough this RAM so I could run it up to 1866 or 2133 at a lower CL than 11 - can someone help me out please - with a link or some tips on what they have for settings?

    I have for a system:
    Rampage IV Extreme (1305 BIOS), 3930k, Crucial m4 128gb x 2 RAID0, Antec 1000w platinum - Win7 64 Ulti SP1 etc) - system is a week old and running well, would like to unleash the RAM though, got it up to 4.7 on air 30-38C idle 40-42C under normal task load (8 Scythe Slipstream fans inside a Corsair 550D and a Hyper 212 EVO (dual fans) sitting near my AC vent).

    If someone needs to see my MEMTWEAKIT or CPU-Z screens I can throw them up here. Thanks everyone!
     
  4. reeltape New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    15 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
     
  5. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,513 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,233
    at those speeds it's unstable at the voltages i'm willing to put through these, but they benched just fine.
    for 24/7 use i've been using the settings i posted a while back with the superpi 1M ss. haven't really had time to push it further lately, and i'm still learning all these new options:eek:
     
  6. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,500 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    PL_badwater
    Just got my Maximus V Gene & 8Gb of this epic ram

    Must say coming from an i7 970 to the 2600K its a hell of a lot easier to overclock the bejesus out of but damn it runs so much hotter which is ironic considering -2 cores & same 32nm Fab

    ram is running at 1.45v

    [​IMG]
     
  7. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Man you got a mediocre 2600k needing 1.45v for 4.6ghz...

    Anyways, try 2133 10-10-10-28 1T at 1.5v!
     
  8. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,500 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    PL_badwater
    Lol still tuning the overclock not sure were the voltage is going to bottom out at. A few of the reviews ive read on the ram don't recommended going over 1.45v
     
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,131 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,330
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    to quote myself, from my own review:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Samsung/MV-3V4G3/6.html


    Going to 1.475v is safe, for sure. That's direct info from Samsung's product data.
     
  10. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Been reading reviews that ppl have been hitting 9-10-10-24 1T DDR3 2133 from 1.5v+ on the Egg.

    I think this has been a reflection of not necessarily the ram (before it was a hard 9-10-10-28 1T) but rather the motherboard bios.

    Anyways, with an updated bios I tried for over an hour of Prime95 9-10-10-24 1T @ 1.575v with 2x4GB without any problems using a custom blend of 6gb of ram:
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    Hi All

    At some stage recently my memory stopped working in dual channel - only 1 stick was detected (albeit at full speed). I have tried all modules in all slots. In single channel mode both sticks work fine. I can only use both on the same channel - so no extra bandwidth for me.

    This seems to be a motherboard problem. I am trying the latest bios now but i was wondering if this might have happened to anyone else and if you have any suggestings. I was using what I think was a reasonable voltage for the non LP version of this ram..

    cheers
     
  12. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,262 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Why dont my Samsung 30nm ram work on 2133MHz 10-10-10-28 1T 1,6V? Prime95 fails in seconds as well SuperPi Mod.

    2000MHz 10-10.10.28 1T 1,5V seems to be stable.
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2012
  13. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,131 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,330
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    how does it fail?
     
  14. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,262 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Error in round in superpi and in prime i dont remember
     
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,131 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,330
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Try 10-11-10 or 11-11-11

    ;)
     
  16. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,262 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    I am now on 2000MHz 9-11-9-28 1T and soon i will try 2133MHz 10-11-10-28 1T

    Edit: I found 2000MHz 10-11-10 1T 1,5V to be most stable for me.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2012
  17. ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    859 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    are people still getting good results with new purchases of these? Are the newegg samsungs still just as good or is there something better now. How well would these work with say an 8320 and 990fx board?
     
  18. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,677 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    Now I'm no mainboard reviewer like Dave here but I can tell you that some folks in the Asrock Z77 mini-itx board thread over at OCN report nothing stable above 2000 either with these sticks. So it appears to be something about these Asrocks, at least with the somewhat limited hearsay info I have right now. I haven't tried to OC mine yet on this platform.
     
  19. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Don't know for your specific platform, but not one of the sticks i bought (bought 9 of them) would refuse to max out my cpu's IMC. The three of them were lga 1366, so it's no surprise i cannot run at 2400, but still, 80$ for 12gb of ddr3 2133 10-10-10-28 is great!
     
  20. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Picked up another set of Sammy LP cheapies and with the BIOS update to 17.5 on my Mpower Z77 MB they are working out well for over clocking. Also they don't go fast if voltage is over 1.55v on DRAM. I have my DRAM voltage at 1.42v and I have them at 2133mhz CL 9-10-10-27. That is with my 3770k over clocked to 5GHZ HT enabled. I have never been able to do this with these sticks so I think MSI finally tweaked the BIOS right. :) Going to keep on pushing them to see how fast I can get them to go. I think they don't like the high voltage because they heat up. I am testing them with Intel Burn Test.

    The ICs on this kit are HYKO.



    http://valid.canardpc.com/2604882
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
    Wrigleyvillain says thanks.
  21. ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    859 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    can someone link me to some amd overclocks with these. Im digging them so far but i think i need a little more coaching.
     
  22. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    For a start, I posted in this thread with these sticks with my AMD system.

    The info is a bit outdated, havent tried overclocking them again with the latest bios, but with past bioses I could get uptill 2100MHz using all 4 slots and reasonably tight timings
     
    ShRoOmAlIsTiC says thanks.
  23. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,312 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,855
    NOOOOOoooo! Say it ain't so!:cry:
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,563 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Is there a list now of what other sticks have these chips? Some of those low profile/voltage crucial sticks seem suspicious.
     
  25. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,513 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,233
    They've been discontinued 3 times now according to Newegg.
    I would expect them to have more stock in about a week.
    I know some guys over at XS have found these chips on some high-end G.Skill kits, the 2666 Tridents, for example.
    As far as those Crucial sticks go, it would make sense and I've been wondering that myself, but there's been no proof that I can find here, on XS, or on i4Memory.
     
    Wrigleyvillain says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page