1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

$48.99 Samsung 30nm DDR3 1600 hitting 2133?!?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by LagunaX, Jan 24, 2012.

  1. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    It can be used to display timings in windows, but it will not allow you to make adjustments, at least not on Asrock boards.
     
    cadaveca and Wrigleyvillain say thanks.
  2. revin

    revin

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    673 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    1.4875v Comp'd to Mushkin 2133

    [​IMG]
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  3. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,827 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,452
    I have tried both the 1866 and 2133 settings, with each just each set, and individually; to no avail. For now I'm running 7-7-7-24 @ 1.54v which I can't complain much but wanted the epen of having 2133.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    That doesn't sound right. Haven't seen anyone not able to get at least 1866 out of these sticks on 1155. Can you download mem tweakit, and post your full timings?
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2012
  5. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Got any results yet?
     
  6. user21

    user21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    282 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Peshawar
    did you require any cooling solution???
     
  7. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    They do not get hot. This is not a real accurate measurement, but I used a reliable infrared thermometer directly on the sticks during stability testing. 31.1 c was the highest temp I recorded at 1866 8-9-8-24 1.45v. Haven't tested temps on 2133 yet. Generally, DDR3 sticks do not require cooling solutions. They are mostly for aesthetics.
     
    Bot and user21 say thanks.
  8. user21

    user21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    282 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Peshawar
    what was the room temperature when you noted them as 31.1c, can you measure the 2133 as well? and i didn't get the last part "DDR3 sticks do not require cooling solutions. They are mostly for aesthetics."
     
  9. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Room temp was 17.3c. I'm not sure how to clarify the statement. Here goes...Basically, DDR3 does not really need any cooling in most cases, and manufacturers use heatspreaders mostly for looks.
     
  10. user21

    user21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    282 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Peshawar
    17.3c going with 31.1c is actually good. i guess it has to do with the nm size as well and what motherboard you are using for OC ??
     
  11. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Even 40nm stays cooler than you would think. My naked Micron D9s I used on 1366 stayed cool. Honestly, the heavy, thick heatspreaders found on many DDR3 sticks actually are counterproductive. I'm benching with a Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3 right now. I'm on a open Lian Li bench table, with no airflow across the board too, so that tells you something about how cool these sticks stay.
     
  12. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah the voltage is lower and people have good airflow through their cases generally these days. Present-day RAM, especially, does not need a heatspreader and it makes sense that some of them (at least) would actually make the ICs hotter.
     
  13. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Not yet. I'll receive them this week. I'll come back the next week-end after mucho testing!
     
  14. user21

    user21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    282 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Peshawar
    impressive. i wish i could grab these here in my country. they would be available but impossible with this price tag. already running vengeance 8gb with sabertooth p67

    and have you ever taken a ddr2 above 1200mhz ?
     
  15. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Yes. Both with with Buffalo Firestix and Supertalent sticks. Here's a DDR2 overclocking thread. You'll see my firestix listed, and a set of Supertalents that Infrared had, that were originally mine. :)

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=58371&highlight=ram tweakers
     
  16. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    picked up a set of these. get a bit better timings out of them than i did on my mushkins. but for some reason my msi z68 refuses to load windows with 2133 ram at any multi's above 45. i have no idea if i'm missing a setting or if it's board/cpu limit.

    sammy's-
    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    mushkins-
    [​IMG]
    By rangerone766 at 2012-02-06
     
  17. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,827 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,452
    I sent ecs a support ticket to see if they can assist. I think it's the board, not the ram.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I had a couple of P67 boards that had a similar issue. Once I had 46+ multi, they would not run 2133 nor 1866 without very loose timings. Playing with voltages did nothing to help. I would say it's the chip IMC, but the same chips on different boards did not have this issue.
     
  19. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Today I am going to try 1886 with tight timings. But if I can't run 2133 with more than a x45 multi, I may just switch back to the mushkins.

    Good thing I bought the extended warranty from microcenter. This board has proven to be fairly unstable, I will return it for a z77 when they are released.
     
  20. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Finally got these sticks running 16GB 1866 8-9-9-21 on 1.47v. I'll post some screenies tonight. I love this ram.
     
  21. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,232 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    1 or 2T? I'll have to try something similar!
     
  22. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,909 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,390
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Bot

    Bot

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    584 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    none at all. inside the case and outside the case.
    i didn't go over 1.5v thou so i don't know how the picture would change there
     
  24. user21

    user21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    282 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Peshawar
    bravo! superb man. You just sparked a bulb in my mind of something i had forgotten.
    DDR2 had its limitations you see it cant make it to 1400mhz or it can be? on the other hand lga775 platform where the front side bus maxes out to 1333 (not the QX9770) and most boards are ddr2 the ram speed to bus ration remains different. The question is should it be
    ram : FSB
    1333mhz : 1333mhz
    for optimal performance? or
    the ram speed doesn't matter?

    P.S. cooling solution needed for ddr2? which board you used with ddr2?
     
  25. tedy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    stop buying them people, out of stock or prices went up :(
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page