1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

480 woes

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Gas2100, Feb 1, 2011.

  1. Gas2100

    Gas2100

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    664 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    i recieved a 480 today off a tpu member and plugged her up, it ran fine through vantage and only hit 74c while running it with the fan @ 68% (forced) and i thought woop as i got a P22k score over my last 18K on my 460 and couldnt wait to get into some BC2, i joined a server and just as i hit "join squad" the computer turns off..it tried to turn itself back on and the trip in the psu went i didnt oc the card AT ALL, things i tried:

    Reseating GPU numorous times , checking cables
    checking the pci slot to make sure it was ok and i hadnt somhow nocked it?
    clearing the Cmos

    ive got my 460 in it now running flawlessly so it isnt the motherboard etc surely? im not gonna take the card apart as it still as warrenty i believe with the original owner who is trying to help me now and is real top bloke in my opinion. props guy.

    any ideas?

    edit: PSU = XFX 750watt black edition with a silver 80+ rating and 62amps on the rail.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    Computer shuts down = PSU.

    *Or CPU overheating, but this doesn't seem to be the case.
     
  3. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    858 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Its your PSU, I have a system similar to yours, with a 700 watt PSU and when I added the GTX470, it would shut off. Replaced the PSU and all was well again.
     
  4. Gas2100

    Gas2100

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    664 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    psu is brand new? :/ it was an ex review sample and it was review tested fine :( it shuts down via the trip in te psu saying short circuit?
     
  5. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,453 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    AZ
    have you checked the event log?
     
  6. Gas2100

    Gas2100

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    664 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106

    how?
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    Contol Panel, Administrative tools, Event Viewer.
     
  8. Gas2100

    Gas2100

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    664 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    im in ther and see nothing but an application error? everything else say 0

    heres the system this psu was tested with to success:

    crosshair iv formula
    x6 1090t @ 4ghz
    2 x 64gb ssd's
    2x 6850's
    and 8gb ddr3 1800
     
  9. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    625 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    WOW, I am surprised. I thought the XFX 750 was a decent power supply, and 750 Watts should be more than enough.

    I am running a GTX580 on a i7 920 @ 4Ghz with a Corsair 750 watt PS and I have had no issues like that.

    Defective PS maybe?
     
  10. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Sounds like XFX doesn't make quality CPU's from what I can tell :(

    That's definitely a PSU issue Gas2100.
     
  11. Gas2100

    Gas2100

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    664 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    its a rebranded seasonic.
     
  12. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,330 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    They do make great PSUs, check CPU temps, that is another thing that can cause a spontaineous shutdown
     
  13. Gas2100

    Gas2100

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    664 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    cpu temp is 67c under load from intelburn test
     
  14. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,330 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    Try everything at stock (RAM, CPU, GPU) then try BC2, if it still occurs try another driver set and if that fails reinstall windows, and if that doesnt work then the PSU is not working properly
     
  15. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    The PSU XFX 750W Black Edition surpasses the Corsair HX750 in most review, at worst it equals it. The PSU is a freaking beast. Perhaps you have a faulty PSU, it can happen to any company, even to Corsair and seasonic etc etc. Just because 1 PSU MAY be faulty, doesn't atomatically mean that that company has bad quality control or anything

    Anyhow, try Furmark, if it passes that, it isn't the PSU

    http://www.geeks3d.com/20100419/tool-furmark-1-8-2-available/
     
  16. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    He can't boot into windows with it though. So he can't exactly test the 480 with Furmark. 460 is about half the power so under Furmark he won't get the same amount of stress.
     
    Gas2100 says thanks.
  17. Gas2100

    Gas2100

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    664 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    ive just ran furmark and intel burn test @ 8 threads AT the same time, not a hitch, altho i was rong, cpu temp reached 58c MAX, gpu 74 till the fan ramped up.
     
  18. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,453 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    AZ
    hmm, it didn't sound like a driver crash from what you posted but it could possibly have been one. no hurt in rinning a driver cleaner and reinstalling.
     
  19. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,330 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    sounds like driver issue with BC2
     
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    That makes the computer turn off?! It doesn't make sense to me.
     
  21. Gas2100

    Gas2100

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    664 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    fair driver issue
     
  22. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,330 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    he said it restarts, maybe a BSOD which flashes for a fraction of a second
     
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    Aye, okay that makes sense. I thought it outright powered down.
     
  24. Gas2100

    Gas2100

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    664 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    it doesnt even post mate, the psu trips as soon as i hit the power button
     
  25. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,453 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    AZ
    from that there's nothing else it could be than the psu. seems like it's not powering like it's supposed to and being the huge gap between a 460 and a 480 on power that would make sense. I suggest rmaing the psu.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page