1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4850 + 2x 4870 CFX questions

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Fitseries3, Aug 17, 2008.

  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    I have 2x 4870's and a 4850.

    my board....

    [​IMG]

    i will have the 4870's in the blue slot and the furthest black one with the 4850 in the middle.

    will this work properly?
     
  2. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i guess im just gonna try it out.

    anyone have a LONG CF bridge i can buy?
     
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    ok... since no one is being helpfull today im tackling it myself.

    maybe someone can tell me how the hell to OC and fix the fan on 3 cards now?

    3 gpu CFX is enabled. there is the option for 2 and 3 gpu in CCC but no overdrive at all.

    any suggestions? AGCT?
     
  4. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    At this point in the day the forums seem a little stagnant. It's better to ask earlier because the people in europe will be awake :)
     
  5. paulo7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    do u mean u have an x2 and a 4850?
     
  6. flclisgreat

    flclisgreat New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    658 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    no, 2 4870's and a 4850
     
  7. paulo7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    ok...... heres where im at...


    1st 4870....
    800/1000

    4850...
    650/1000

    2nd 4870...
    500/1000

    i can change the 1st 4870 and the 4850 but NOT the 2nd 4870. WTF?

    i saved the profile in CCC and tried to edit it but it's empty. what now?
     
  9. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    errrrrrr....

    now the driver keeps crashing in the cpu test of 3dm06. wtf man? this is crap.
     
  10. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    hows this?

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Is that a good score?
     
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    pretty damn good. i'd tell you my 06 score but 06 wont run at all. not even at stock.
     
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Why 03? Why not vantage or 06?
     
  14. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    ^^^
     
  15. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    what about vantage?
     
  16. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    trying now.
     
  17. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Yup!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  18. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    That seems low for 3 4800's..
     
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    there is a # of things that are wrong here. this damn p45 is a shitty OCer with ram so my mem is running crappy. the video cards wont OC much in 3gpu mode either.
     
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,666 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,059
    What are all the lanes running at? x8x4x4? You may actually get a better score removing the 4850. Either way, cool stuff man!:toast:
     
  21. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    yup... but it's pci-e 2.0 so it's not that bad really. i need my p5e3 back from dark. help me convince him;).

    06 still wont run.
     
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,666 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,059
    Does 06 just lockup or does it give you an error?
     
  23. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    it stops. i can ctrl+alt+del out of it and the comp runs fine for hours but not 3dm06.
     
  24. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,899 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    390
    Location:
    Florida, US
    I think you'd be better off with the 4870s in lane 1 and 2
    and forgetting about the 4850 ( at least on this board)
     
  25. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    im actually getting 1400 - 1600pts higher at the same cpu clock i benched the 2x 4870's at.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page