1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4850 Crossfire Issue

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Xart, Mar 6, 2010.

  1. Xart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey everyone!

    I recently bought a 2nd 4850 to setup crossfire. I followed the Crossfire guide here at techpowerup forums and did everything instructed. However when I ran 3Dmark06, there were no improvements whatsoever (the crossfire box in CCC was enabled). Then I checked GPU-Z and it said Crossfire was available but not enabled. What I find odd is that GPU-Z detects 2 video cards but CCC only detects one.

    both 4850s have 2 crossfire bridge slots but am currently only using 1. Do I need 2 bridges? or does it matter which slot i use if im only using 1 bridge?

    My current setup:
    Intel Q9450 @ 2.66 GHZ
    Asus P5Q Pro (P45 mobo)
    Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066 (4GB)
    2x Powercolor 4850 1GB DDR3
    Antec Truepower 750W
    Windows XP SP2 (yeah i know i dont reap the benefits of 4 GB of ram:banghead:)

    If anyone could shed some light on my dilemma, it would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks in advance,
     
  2. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Have you loaded drivers for both cards? I had this problem with a past set of 4850's. Did a fresh driver install to fix it.
     
  3. JTS

    JTS New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    144 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yep, just try re-running the driver install.

    Otherwise check in CCC and make sure the Enable Crossfire box is ticked (if it's showing up there)
     
  4. Xart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    When I re-install the drivers, does it matter if the cards are bridged or not?
     
  5. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,253 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I guess it should be bridged.

    Subscribed to this thread. Have another 4850, just didn't get time to experiment CF. Will help me to.
     
  6. Xart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I tried re-installing the drivers, still the same problem comes up.

    Windows Device manager and GPU-Z detects 2 cards but CCC doesnt. I'll try running through the Crossfire guide here at the forums one more time.


    EDIT: Information center in CCC indicates my 2nd card is disabled but windows displays both gfx cards working fine.....Did i miss a step in my xfire setup?
     
  7. Xart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I was having issues reinstalling the drivers (Catalyst 10.2 kept crashing at a certain point in the installation) so I tried reverting to older drivers (Catalyst 9.5) and it finally worked!!!:toast::rockout:

    But......


    I ran some benchmarks and the performance gains were not exactly what i expected.

    3Dmark06 (Default settings @ 1280x1024)

    Single 4850: 12735

    Dual 4850: 15815

    That's barely a 28% performance boost:confused:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page