1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4850 Crossfire or 4870 Crossfire???

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by RoL3887, Sep 7, 2008.

  1. RoL3887 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    I'm definitely doing a video card upgrade to my build, and I just wanted to get some opinions of which crossfire cards to get?? I don't play any games as of now that are super graphic intensive. I play WOW, CS:S, Call of Duty 4, GRID. I won't be playing Crysis or anything. Which setup should i go for? HD 4850 or HD4870?? I def. want to get crossfire, but with the kind of gaming I will be doing, would the extra cash for the 4870's be worth it?? I only have a 19 inch screen also, and prolly won't be upgrading to anything bigger. Thanks


    System Specs

    Q6600
    Asus P5E Deluxe (Rampage BIOS)
    4GB OCZ DDR2 800mhz
    19" Samsung TOC T190
    Geforce 8600GT
    2 WD 7200 RPM HDD
    750W Corsair PSU
    Antec 900 Case
     
  2. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,550 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    neither - 4870 X2.
     
    RoL3887 says thanks.
  3. RoL3887 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I wish. That's def. a little out of my budget though. It's just between the 4850's or 4870's. I'm planning on buying one for now, then getting the second one a little later. Thanks
     
  4. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,550 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    oh i see, well in that case i would go for the 4870 that'll sort you out for a good year i would think unless another Graphic card killer comes out
     
  5. RoL3887 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How much of a diff. would a crossfire 4870 setup be against a 4850 setup?? I have read anything smaller then a 22" screen, a 4850 will be more then enough. And also since I don't play the craziest graphic intensive games out there
     
  6. King Wookie

    King Wookie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    I'd stick with the 4850 for now.
    2 in crossfire trade blows with a 280GTX, so that would be overkill for now, but should be plenty for the future.
     
  7. RoL3887 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Oh okay thanks. Prolly will go for the 4850's. Any sites that have them cheap??? I'm interested in HIS, but if anyone can recommend another brand, I'll look into it. Newegg isn't on my list of sites because since I'm in Jersey, Newegg charges tax : (
     
  8. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    RoL3887 says thanks.
  9. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    I will have a 4850 like new in retail box for sale this week for $149 plus shipping
    and a brand new 4870X2 for $425 shipped
    LMK if at all interested
     
    RoL3887 says thanks.
  10. merkk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    183 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Well if you keep your Q6600 at stock speed like you have posted in your system specs i go with the 4850s . I think it be a litte easyer for your cpu running at stock speeds to drive the 2 4850 in crossfire better.
     
    RoL3887 says thanks.
  11. $ReaPeR$

    $ReaPeR$

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    143 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Athens-Greece
    IMO get the 4850 in cf anything above it would be an overkill seriously in a year or so you will change it anyway so i advise you not to waste your money with anything else especially with your monitor. gather some money and buy a better monitor after you buy the 4850 because in 1280x1024 their power will be wasted.
     
    RoL3887 says thanks.
  12. RoL3887 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OH ic.. the thing is.. I just bought my monitor lol.... I'm kind of lacking in computer space and cannot go any bigger. I am more then content using a 19 inch screen. Won't be upgrading probably until the next computer I build in a couple years. Also, I am planning on OC'ing the q6600 to 3.2 ghz..
     
  13. merkk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    183 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Like $ReaPeR$ said at 1280x1024 rez.the 4850 are the way to go . Take the money that left over get a new game. You may only need to get the Q6600 to 3.0 ghz. with running the rez at 1280x1024 and have all the power you need .
     
    RoL3887 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page